Wymondham, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Wymondham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Forehoe|
|Parish registers: 1615|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
WYMONDHAM, or Windham (St. Mary the Virgin and St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Forehoe, E. division of Norfolk, 9 miles (W. S. W.) from Norwich, and 100 (N. E. by N.) from London. The Baptists, theSociety of Friends, the Independents, and Wesleyans have places of worship.
Wymondham St Mary and St Thomas of Canterbury is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Norwich Outer 1939-1974
Wymondham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wymondham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 184/ 1-25
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Miller, Terry and Mary. A Seventeenth Century Medical Family of Wymondham. History of the family and descendants of John Hawys c1563 and married Alice Rix of Wacton, in 1598.Other areas are Norwich, and Wicklewood. Other surnames are Hobart, Freeman, Quarles, Bayfield, Anguish, Crowe, Gleane, Maud, Rayley, Jyssop, Stuart, Burroughes, Gardner, Carver, Dey, Andrews, Culyer, Jubbs, Seaborne, Malsopp, Watts, Talbot, Blackborne, Bransby. Article covers years 1563-1752, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 4 pt. 8. Dec 2006, pages 513-516, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j v4, pt 8, Dec. 2006.
Colman, John E. A Case of Mistaken Identity - Jeremiah Colman. History of mistaken identity, and family tree of Edward IA Colman and Sarah Mayhew dating from 1627-1814, with following surnames: Bubbin, Woodcock, Lincolne, Cann, Buckle, Weavers, Juby. Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 7 pt. 8, pages 260-266, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j v.7 n.6-13.
Proctor, Patricia. The Proctor Family, Yorkshire - Norfolk - London - Surrey. History of Francis Proctor and Ann Kett starting in 1658, with movements to Martham, Slaidburn, Clapham Surrey, with the following surnames. Snarr, Cullyer, Hatch, Sexton, Blackbourne, Bates, Linford, Bartlett, dating from 1658-1991. Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 7. pt 9. June 1995, pages 317-319, Family History Library Ref 942.61 B2j V.7 n.6-17
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Wymondham on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 703-707. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.