Wymering, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Wymering, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Fareham|
|Parish registers: 1654|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WYMERING (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Fareham, hundred of Portsdown, Fareham and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4¼ miles (W.) from Havant; containing, with the hamlet of Hilsea, and part of Potwell. There is a place of worship for Independents; and a national school.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Wymering, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|WYMERING PARISH Online Records|
Edwards, Betty. Portsmouth or Portsea? This article has a map, and gives an explanation of the ancient parishes, including Wymering, St. Peter and St. Paul. The ancient parishes of Widley and Wymering were consolidated in the early 19th Century, Apparently some of the registers are somewhat confused, some books covering the separate churches and some containing entries for both. The joint registers start in 1654, and whatever has survived are available at the Portsmouth City Records Office. Article is in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XII, no. 2, August 1985, page 73-75, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v. 12
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 703-707. Date accessed: 28 May 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.