Wylam, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Wylam, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wylam, Northumberland
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham
Registration District Castle Ward; Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1886
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corbridge
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Church History

Formed in 1886 from Ovingham Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Parish Registers

Census records

Genealogy From Periodicals

McIntosh, Gordon. My McIntosh Family Tree Spurious branches included.. History of descendants of James McIntosh and Isabella (Nisbet) Wallace, with descendants in Edinburgh, St. Cuthberts, Northumberland - Wylam, Durham, Bishop Auckland, and New Zealand-Auckland. Surnames in the tree, Clements, Edwards, Hunter, Blair, Brown, Roycroft, Paxton, and Falconer. Article dated from 1794-1952 and is in the Northumberland and Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 34, no.3, page 96-98. Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo v.34,no.3, (autumn 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.