Wyandotte County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wyandotte County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Wyandotte County

Guide to Wyandotte County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Kansas City
Organized: January 29, 1859
Parent County(s): Leavenworth and Johnson [1]
Neighboring Counties
Clay (MO)  • Jackson (MO)  • Johnson  • Leavenworth  • Platte (MO)
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasWyandotteCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Wyandotte County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the Wyandot Indians. The County has Kansas City as its seat and the County was created January 29, 1859. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Wyandotte County Courthouse
710 N 7th Street
Kansas City, KS 66112
Phone: 913.573.5260
Wyandotte County Website

City Clerk has birth and death records.
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

Wyandotte County, Kansas Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1885 1860 1885 1934 1861 1863 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[4]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Wyandotte County, Kansas:

Cities
Unincorporated communites
  • Welborn
  • Wyandotte
Townships
  • Delaware


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Wyandotte County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

Cemetery Index - Wyandotte County Historical Museum - Trowbridge Research Library [1] BillionGraves:

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 2,609
1870 10,015 283.9%
1880 19,143 91.1%
1890 54,407 184.2%
1900 73,227 34.6%
1910 100,068 36.7%
1920 122,218 22.1%
1930 141,211 15.5%
1940 145,071 2.7%
1950 165,318 14.0%
1960 185,495 12.2%
1970 186,845 0.7%
1980 172,335 −7.8%
1990 161,993 −6.0%
2000 157,882 −2.5%
2010 157,505 −0.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[5] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[6] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Kansas City

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Wyandotte County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Atchison CountyJefferson CountyDouglas CountyLeavenworth CountyJohnson CountyJackson County, MOClay County, MOPlatte County, MOWyandotte, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Early migration routes to and from Wyandotte County, Kansas for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Kansas. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Kansas Military Records.

Collections Covering Multiple Wars

Civil War

Spanish-American War (1898)

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

For further information see Kansas Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Wyandotte and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Wyandotte County Historical Society and Museum
631 N 126th St
Bonner Springs, KS 66012
Telephone Number: 913-573-5002
Website

Societies

Wyandotte County Historical Society and Museum
631 N 126th St
Bonner Springs, KS 66012
Telephone Number: 913-573-5002
Website

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • Wyandotte County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wyandotte County, Kansas. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Wyandot, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wyandotte_County,_Kansas" 9/14/2017.
  3. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 238.
  4. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  5. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  6. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.
  7. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  9. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).