Wright County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wright County, Minnesota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Buffalo
Organized: March 2, 1855[1]
Parent County(s): Cass, Sibley[2]
Neighboring Counties
Anoka  • Carver  • Hennepin  • McLeod  • Meeker  • Sherburne  • Stearns
See County Maps
Courthouse
Minnesota, Wright County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Minnesota Wright County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for a New York politician, Silas Wright. The County is located in the central area of the state. [3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Wright County Courthouse
10 2nd Street NW
Buffalo, Mn 55313
Phone: 763-682-7539
Wright County Website

License Bureau has birth and death records from 1871 and marriage records from 1866.
Court Administrator has divorce and court records from 1870 and probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records.[4]

Wright County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1871 1866 1871 1870 1856 1854 1836
*Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Wright County, Minnesota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links to Federal, State, and Territorial censuses, see Minnesota Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 3,729
1870 9,457 153.6%
1880 18,104 91.4%
1890 24,164 33.5%
1900 29,157 20.7%
1910 28,082 −3.7%
1920 28,685 2.1%
1930 27,119 −5.5%
1940 27,550 1.6%
1950 27,716 0.6%
1960 29,935 8.0%
1970 38,933 30.1%
1980 58,681 50.7%
1990 68,710 17.1%
2000 89,986 31.0%
2010 124,700 38.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • Hoar, Alfred Wyman. Lineage and family records of Alfred Wyman Hoar and his wife Josephine Jackson with notes on the early history of Wright County, Minnesota. (Eagle Print. Co., 1898). Digital version at Internet Archive; indexed at Ancestry ($).

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Wright County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Stearns CountySherburne CountyAnoka CountyHennepin CountyCarver CountyMcLeod CountyMeeker CountyMN WRIGHT.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Civil War service men from Wright County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Wright County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company E.
- 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company B.
- Hatch's Independent Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company E.

Spanish-American War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Wright County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Wright County. For state-wide library facilities, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Great River Regional Library
Buffalo Branch Library
18 NW Lake Blvd
Buffalo MN 55313
763-682-2753
Website

Wright County Heritage Center
Research Library
P O Box 304
2001 Highway 25 North
Buffalo, MN 55313
763-682-7323
Email: info@wrighthistory.org
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Wright County Historical Society Museum
2001 Highway 25 North
Buffalo, MN 55313
763-682-7323
E-mail: wrighthistory@me.com
Website

Cokato Museum
175 4th Street SW
PO Box 686
Cokato, MN 55321-0686
320-286-2427
Email: info@cokatomuseum.org
Website

Ames Florida Stork House
Rockford Area Historical Society
8131 Bridge St
PO Box 186
Rockford, MN 55373
763-477-5383
Website

Minnesota Pioneer Park
725 Pioneer Park Trail
Annandale, MN 55302
320-274-8489
Email: pioneerp@lakedalelink.net
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Wright County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Minnesota Societies.

Wright County Historical Society
PO Box 304
2001 Highway 25 N
Buffalo, MN 55313-3303
763-682-7323
Email: info@wrighthistory.org
Website

Cokato Finnish-American Society
2000 County Rd 3 SW
Cokato, MN 55321-4408
320-286-2833
Email: heidibharveyb@gmail.com
Facebook

Cokato Historical Society
Museum & Library
PO Box 686
175 4th Street West
Cokato, MN
320-286-2427
Email: info@cokatomuseum.org
Website

Rockford Area Historical Society
Ames-Florida-Stork House
PO Box 186
Rockford, MN 55373-0186
763-477-5383
Website

Delano/Franklin Township Historical Society
234 Bridge Ave E
Delano, MN 55328
763-257-2963
Email: jonsteinmetz@live.com
Website

Hanover Historical Society
PO Box 13
1010 River Road NE
Hanover, MN 55341
Email: info@hanoverhistoricalsociety.org
Website

Minnesota Pioneer Park
725 Pioneer Park Trail
Annandale, MN 55302
320-274-8489
Email: pioneerp@lakedalelink.net
Website

St. Michael Historical Society
11800 Town Center Dr NE
St Michael, MN 55376
763-416-7967
Email: zahlerb66@gmail.com
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 5 February 2021.
  2. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 5 February 2021.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Wright County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wright_County,_Minnesota accessed 5 March 2021
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 5 March 2021.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 5 March 2021.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Wright County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wright_County,_Minnesota, accessed 5 March 2021.