To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wright County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wright County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Wright County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Wright County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Clarion
Courthouse
IowaWrightCourthouse.jpg
Address Wright County Courthouse
115 North Main Street
Clarion, IA 50525
Wright County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Silas Wright. The County has Clarion as its seat and the County was created 1851. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[1]

Wright County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1860 1880 1873 1855 1880 1847
Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths Jan 1891. General compliance by 1924.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

The Wright County Courthouse
115 North Main Street
Clarion, IA 50525

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1851--Wright County was created 15 January 1851 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Boone and Webster Counties prior to organization 1 October 1855.  County seat: Clarion [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Cerro Gordo • Franklin • Hamilton • Hancock • Hardin • Humboldt • Kossuth • Webster

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran[edit | edit source]

Samuel Lutheran Church, Eagle Grove

  • Records of the Samuel Lutheran Church, Eagle Grove, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Wright County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Wright County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Wright County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Biographies[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Kossuth CountyHancock CountyCerro Gordo CountyHumboldt CountyFranklin CountyHardin CountyHamilton CountyWebster CountyIA WRIGHT.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Wright County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wright County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company K

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Wright County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

*Belmond Independent Belmond, Iowa *Dows Advocate Dows, Iowa *Eagle Grove Eagle Eagle Grove, Iowa *Wright County Monitor Clarion, Iowa 

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Wright - Probate records.


Taxation[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Wright County Genealogical Searchers
Post Office Box 225
Clarion, Iowa 50525-0225
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Wright, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wright_County,_Iowa."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wright County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. History of Wright County Iowa, It's People, Industries and Institutions; Hon. B.P. Bridsall, B.P. Bowen Co., Inc., Indianapolis, Indiana, 1915, 1061 pages.
  5. History of Wright County Iowa, It's People, Industries and Institutions; Hon. B.P. Bridsall, B.P. Bowen Co., Inc., Indianapolis, Indiana, 1915, 1061 pages.