To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wrecclesham, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Wrecclesham, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wrecclesham, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Farnham
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Farnham
Registration District Farnham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1840
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Chapel History[edit | edit source]

WRECKLESHAM and BOURN, tythings, in the parish and hundred of Farnham, W. division of Surrey, 1¾ mile (S. W. by S.) from Farnham. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Online Wrecclesham, Surrey Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
1840
Indexes 1840-1865 findmypast[2]


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[3]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 15 October 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012.
  3. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.