Worth County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Worth County

Guide to Worth County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Sylvester
Organized: December 20, 1853
Parent County(s): Dooly, Irwin[1]
Neighboring Counties
Colquitt  • Crisp  • Dougherty  • Lee  • Mitchell  • Tift  • Turner
See County Maps
Courthouse
Worth County Courthouse Sylvester, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Worth County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Major General William J. Worth of New York. The County is located in the southwest area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Worth County Courthouse
201 N. Main Street
Sylvester, GA 31791-2178
Phone: 229-776-8205
Worth County

Probate Court has birth records from 1897, marriage records from 1854, death records from 1919 and probate records from 1880.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and and records.[3]

Worth County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1897 1854 1919 1879 1892 1880 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

1879 The courthouse at Isabella was destroyed by fire on 26 and 27 January. All records were lost except one deed book and some marriages.[5]
1880 Fire destroyed the courthouse on 24 October, but the county records survived in the fire-proof vault.[5]
1893 Fire destroyed the courthouse on 9 August. Most probate records were unharmed; only two Superior Court books survived.[5]
1982 Fire burned the courthouse at Sylvester on 27 January. The county's records had been microfilmed only four days prior to this fire.[5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1853 Worth County was created 20 December 1853 from Dooly and Irwin Counties.
  • County seat: Sylvester[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Worth County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Worth, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Worth County cemeteries.

Census Records

  • Jeffery, Alice. Worth County, Georgia Census, 1920 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 1999. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Worth County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Grubbs, Lillie Martin. History of Worth County, Georgia: For the First Eighty Years, 1854-1934. Macon, Ga.: J.W. Burke Co., 1934. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Lee CountyCrisp CountyTurner CountyTift CountyColquitt CountyDougherty CountyMitchell CountyGA WORTH.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Worth County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Worth County:

- 10th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 14th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 59th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company F

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Worth County Historical Society
    PO Box 5073
    Sylvester, GA 31791
    Phone: 912-776-4481
    Website
  • Southwest Georgia Genealogical Society
    PO Box 4672
    Albany, GA 31706
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Worth County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Worth_County,_Georgia accessed 7 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Worth County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 62-63. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.