Wormhill, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Wormhill, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wormhill St Margaret Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Chapel en le Frith|
|Registration District||Chapel en le Frith|
|Parish registers: 1674|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1680|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WORMHILL, a chapelry, in the parish of Tideswell, union of Chapel-en-le-Frith, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 2£ miles (W. S. W.) from Tideswell. The chapel is dedicated to 'St. Margaret.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Wormhill chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Wormhill St Margaret (1674) Chapelry Online Records|
Wormhill St Margaret was formed as a parish in 1859 previously chapelry in Tideswell, Derbyshire
Derbyshire Record Office reference D1372 has deposited registers Bap 1674-1890 Mar 1674-1987 Burial 1674-1947 Banns 1862-1946
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1680-1879 Mar 1680-1839 Burials 1680-1879
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Wormhill on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 673-687. Date accessed: 5 April, 2013.