To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Worleston, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Worleston, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WORLESTON, a township, in the parish of Acton, union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of the county of Chester, 1 3/4 mile N from Nantwich. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Worleston Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Worlston St Oswald Parish (1873) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1795-1802
  NONE
1876-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1873-1882
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Worleston was a township in Acton ancient parish,and became a civil parish in 1866

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Worleston, Cheshire, 1873-1997 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P321/6564/1-2.

Parish Registers: Worleston
Film
Marriages, 1875-1974.
2147070 Item 1
Baptisms, 1873-1973. Burials, 1875-1997.
2356823 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Worleston, 1873-1882 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 229

Bishops Transcripts:Worleston Film
Baptisms, 1873-1882, burials 1873, 1875-1882.
1647762 Item 2


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Worleston, Methodist Chapel (Free). Built in 1871, closed in 1969.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Nantwich (1837-1937)
  • Crewe (1937-74)
  • Congleton & Crewe (1974-88)
  • South Cheshire (1988-98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire East (2009+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Nantwich

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 673-687. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.


Bibliography[edit | edit source]


FamilySearch