Workington St Michael, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cumberland
Cumberland Parishes
Workington St Michael

Guide to Workington St Michael, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Workington St Michael, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allerdale above Derwent
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Cockermouth
Registration District Cockermouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1676
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Copeland
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Parish History

WORKINGTON, a town, a parish, and a sub-district, in Cockermouth district, Cumberland. The town stands on the coast, at the mouth of the river Derwent, and on the Maryport and Whitehaven railway, at the junction of the railway to Cockermouth, 7 miles N by E of Whitehaven. There are four dissenting chapels, and a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Workington St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Workington St Michael Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1939
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy

Lynn, Janette.  Who Said Our Ancestors Didn't Travel Very Far?  Now you know why you couldn't find them in Denbigh/Denbighshire.  Five marriages are recorded in the Workington parish records of Denbigh grooms.  They are Isaac Hugh to Marther Matherman 12 Sept. 1778; John Miller to Sarah Hatch 30 Sept. 1778; David Davies to Elanor Crudders 7 Jan. 1779; Mathias Williams to Ann Ditchburn 8 Feb. 1779; Peter Vaughn to Isabella Routledge 2 October 1781. This is to be found in journal Hel Achau, #100, March 2009, page 55, Family History Library Ref. 942.93 D25h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Workington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848 Date accessed and adapted 8 July 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk