Worcester St Martin, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Worcester St Martin, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Worcester St Martin, Worcestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Worcester|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1612|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
WORCESTER, a city, a county of itself, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the county of Worcester, of which it is the capital, Worcester and W. divisions of the county, 111 miles (N. W. by W.) from London. The city comprises the parishes of St. Alban, All Saints, St. Andrew, St. Clement, St. Helen, St. Martin, St. Nicholas, St. Peter, and St. Swithin. St. Swithin's is a discharged rectory. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
The original records are held at the Worcestershire Record Office, City Centre Branch (otherwise known as the
Worcestershire Library and History Centre)
England Tel: 01905 765922
Fax: 01905 765925
For complete information, including map and hours of operation, see www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/archon/searches/locresult_details.asp?LR=781
The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and the bishop's transcripts. For the parish registers, you will need to look in the FamilySearch Catalog under England, Worcester, Worcester and find St. Martin's mixed in with other parishes for the city of Worcester. The Bishop's Transcripts for Worcester are not filed by parish, but by year for the whole county. Thus, each year's transcripts are on a different film. An FHL finding aid giving FHL film numbers by parish has been compiled and is available as FHL book 942.4 K29bt, also available on microfiche at Family History Centers, fiche 6035756 (2 fiches).
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 673-687. Date accessed and adapted: 21 November 2013.