Woodville, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Woodville, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley; West Goscote|
|Poor Law Union||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Registration District||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Parish registers: 1846|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1847|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WOODVILLE, an ecclesiastical district, in the union of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, partly in the parish of Ashbyde-la-Zouch, hundred of West Goscote, county of Leicester, and partly in the parish of Hartshorn, hundred of Repton and Gresley, county of Derby, 3½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Ashby. The Wesleyans have a small place of worship.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Woodville parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Woodville Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Leicestershire Record Office.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel; A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 657-661. Date accessed: 04 September 2012.
- Searching Parish Records online (Leicestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.