Woodsetts, Yorkshire Genealogy
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Worksop|
|Parish registers: 1841|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1841|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Guide to Woodsetts, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Part of this parish is in Nottinghamshire. See also Woodsetts, Nottinghamshire.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Woodsetts is an Ecclesiastical Parish in Metropolitan Borough of Rotherham in South Yorkshire, partly in Nottinghamshire and partly in Yorkshire; created in 1841 from Letwell with Gildingwells see Letwell, Yorkshire Ecclesiastical Parish and Wallingwells extra-parochial area.
WOODSETTS, a township, in the parish of Anston, union of Worksop, S, division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 4 miles (N. W. by W.) from Worksop.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Woodsetts exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|WOODSETTS CHAPELRY (1841) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Anston to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ANSTON PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Yorkshire Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Jurisdictions for Parishes Beginning with W to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 657-661. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.