Woodruff County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Woodruff County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Woodruff County
 

Guide to Woodruff County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Augusta
Organized: November 26, 1862
Parent County(s): Jackson and St. Francis[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cross  • Jackson  • Monroe  • Prairie  • St. Francis  • White
See County Maps
Courthouse
Woodruff County Arkansas Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-woodruff.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for William E. Woodruff, founder of the state's first newspaper, the Arkansas Gazette. The County Seat is Augusta and was founded November 26, 1862.[2] It is located in the central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Woodruff County Website
500 North 3rd Street
Augusta, AR 72006-0356
Phone: 870.347.5206
Woodruff County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1865;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[4]

Woodruff County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1865 1914* 1865 1851 1865 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1862--Woodruff County was created 26 November 1862 from Jackson and St. Francis Counties.
  • County seat: Augusta[6]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Woodruff County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Woodruff County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [7]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Woodruff, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 6,891
1880 8,646 25.5%
1890 14,009 62.0%
1900 16,304 16.4%
1910 20,049 23.0%
1920 21,547 7.5%
1930 22,682 5.3%
1940 22,133 −2.4%
1950 18,957 −14.3%
1960 13,954 −26.4%
1970 11,566 −17.1%
1980 11,222 −3.0%
1990 9,520 −15.2%
2000 8,741 −8.2%
2010 7,260 −16.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1861-1935 Woodruff County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration records 1866-1887; Administration, executor and guardian bonds 1861-1903; Dockets 1876-1896; Letters of guardianship 1862-1904; Probate record index 1861-1899; Probate records 1861-1899; Wills 1862-1935.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Jackson CountyPoinsett CountyCross CountySt. Francis CountyLee CountyMonroe CountyPrairie CountyWhite County250PX
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Woodruff County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company D

Online Records

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Woodruff County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Woodruff County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

  • 1873 - 1937 - Woodruff County Birth Index 1873-1937. Batch C750786 at FamilySearch - free.

Marriage

Death

  • 1894 - 1899 - Woodruff County Death Index 1894-1899. Batch B750788 at FamilySearch - free.

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Woodruff County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/woodruff/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Woodruff County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodruff_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Woodruff County, Arkansas. Page 71 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 67.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Paula Harmon Barnett, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=815&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 18, 2016), “Woodruff County.”
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.