Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire|
St Paul Woodhouse Eaves, Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Barrow upon Soar|
|Registration District||Barrow upon Soar|
|Parish registers: 1837|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1844|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Woodhouse Eaves is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Leicestershire, created as a District church in 1839 from Barrow upon Soar, Leicestershire Ancient Parish, Newtown Linford, Leicestershire, and Ulverscroft, Leicestershire (extra-parochial).
WOODHOUSE, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of West Goscote,N. division of the county of Leicester, 3 miles (S. W.)from Loughborough. A district church has been erected at Woodhouse-Eaves, in Charnwood Forest. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Woodhouse Eaves like this:
WOODHOUSE-EAVES, a chapelry, with a village, in Barrow-upon-Soar parish, Leicester; 4¼ miles S by W of Loughborough r. station. It takes its name from including part of Wood house township, and from lying on the eaves or edge of Charnwood forest; it was constituted in 1844. There are Baptist and Wesleyan chapels.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Woodhouse Eaves parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PRs = England, Leicestershire Parish Registers, 1533-1991 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|FMP = Leicestershire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP Banns = Leicestershire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP Marr = Leicestershire Marriage Licences, 1604-1891 (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|MyH = Leicestershire Parish Births, Marriages, Burials (MyHeritage) - ($)|
|TGEN = Leicestershire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)|
|PC = Parish Chest - ($) Registers delivered by email.|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Woodhouse Eaves Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Leicestershire Record Office.
Diocese of Leicester: Woodhouse Eaves Bap 1844 - 1971 Marr 1837 - 1983 (Banns to 1969) Bur 1844 - 1978
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 654-657. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.
- Searching Parish Records online (Leicestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.