To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Woodford County, Illinois Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Woodford County, Illinois)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Woodford County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Woodford County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Woodford County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 27, 1841
County Seat Eureka
Courthouse
Woodford County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Woodford County Courthouse
115 N. Main, Suite 202
Eureka, IL 61530
(309) 467-2822
Woodford County Website


Woodford County Organization[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1871 1841 1871 1841 1832 1841 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1916. General compliance by 1922.

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Woodford County are kept, see the Woodford County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Woodford County, Illinois is named for Woodford County, Kentucky which is the place where many of the settlers originated.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1841--Woodford County was created 27 February 1841 from, Tazewell and McLean Counties.  County seat:  Eureka [2]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Woodford County, Kentucky. The county seat is Eureka and the county was organized on 27 February 1841. The County is located in the central area of the state.[3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Eastern Part

1831-1841 McLean
1827-1831 Tazewell
1821-1827 Fayette
1819-1821 Clair
1816-1819 Crawford
1815-1816 Edwards

Western Part

1827-1841 Tazewell
1825-1827 Peoria
1821-1825 Sangamon
1817-1821 Bond
1812-1817 Madison
1801-1812 St. Clair
1790-1801 Knox, Northwest Territory

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Records and Resources[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Past and Present of Woodford County, Illinois 1878   (WorldCat)

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Woodford, Illinois online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Illinois Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Woodford county cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190021,822
191020,506−6.0%
192019,340−5.7%
193018,792−2.8%
194019,1241.8%
195021,33511.6%
196024,57915.2%
197028,01214.0%
198033,32018.9%
199032,653−2.0%
200035,4698.6%
201038,6649.0%
IL Counties 1900-1990

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Woodford County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1854-1859 County Court Record IRAD-ISU

Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

The following have information concerning African American research.

History[edit | edit source]

Large numbers of Kentuckians settled in frontier Woodford County, Illinois. The name of the county (Woodford) is reminiscent of Woodford County, Kentucky - the previous residence of many pioneer settlers.[4]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

1841-1928 Deed Index IRAD-ISU

1833-1928 Deed Record IRAD-ISU

Land Records available at the Family History Library

1812 Soldiers of 1812 etc.: Whose Bounty Land Grants Were Located in Woodford County, Illinois. by A.F. Marxhall, L.J. Freese and Milo Custer. FHL film 823572 item 6 and FHL book: 977.3 A1 no. 1. second copy 977.3 A1 no. 218.

1832-1893 Grantee and Grantor Indexes. Woodford County Clerk. FHL films 1401898-1401900

Maps[edit | edit source]

LaSalle CountyLivingston CountyMcLean CountyTazewell CountyPeoria CountyMarshall CountyIL WOODFORD.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military Records[edit | edit source]

For information about using military records see Illinois Military Records

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]

Veteran Burials  (Genealogy Trail History Group)

War 1812[edit | edit source]

Military Land Grants Woodford County, Illinois for Soldiers of the War of 1812 - USGenWeb

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Woodford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Woodford County.

Cavalry

- 4th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company G

Infantry

- 17th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G
- 47th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B, and Company I
- 51st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 77th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C, Company F, and Company H.
- 85th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 86th Regiment, Illinois InfantryCompany A.
- 108th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D, and Company E
- 139th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C
  • IRAD-ISU Records
1861-1863 Militia Roll Record IRAD-ISU
1863-1865 Militia Discharge Record, Civil War IRAD-ISU
1913-1941 Mother's Pension Applications IRAD-ISU
1931-1934 Mother's Pension Accountts IRAD-ISU

World War I[edit | edit source]

World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 (Ancestry)

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Woodford County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1855-1906 Naturalization Papers. Woodford County Court. FHL 1401869-1401871

1861-1901 Naturalization Records. Woodford County Court. FHL 1401866-1401867

1867-1906 Naturalization Records. Woodford County Court. FHL film 1401866 Item 2 - 1401867

Online Records

Newspapers and Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Newspapers Published in Woodford County   Illinois Newspaper Project

Chronicling America   The Library of Congress

Obituaries

Woodford County, Illinois, Prairie District Library, Obituaries, 1887 to Present. at Ancestry

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records


Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Woodford County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.


1842-1847 Probate Claim Dockets IRAD-ISU

1869-1964 Probate Will Record IRAD-ISU

1870-1956 Probate Inventory Record IRAD-ISU

1877-1853 Probate Widow's Relinquishment and Selection Record IRAD-ISU

Probate records available at the Family History Library

1846-1866 Probate Order Book; Will Record 1869-1925; Guardian Record, 1866-1908; Probate Record, 1745-1876 Woodford County Court. FHL film 1401860 - 1401869

Public Records[edit | edit source]

1868-1957 Almshouse Register IRAD-ISU Woodford County Almshouse Registers Index (1868–1957)

1868-1893 Poor Farm Monthly Reports IRAD-ISU

1917-1940 Poor Farm Case Files IRAD-ISU

Repositories[edit | edit source]

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Illinois State University houses the records for Woodford County.


County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Woodford County are kept, see the Woodford County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Woodford County.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Family History Centers FamilySearch

Illinois,_Woodford Family History Library Holdings

Illinois Regional Archives Depository - IRAD[edit | edit source]

Illinois State Universtiy - ISU
2016 Warehouse Road Campus
Box 1520
Normal, Illinois 61802
Phone: 1-309-452-6027

Illinois Regional Archives Depository System - Local Governmental Records Listings Arranged by County

Public Libraries[edit | edit source]

Woodford County Public Libraries

Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Lexington Genealogical and Historical Society, Inc.
318 West Main Street
Lexington, Illinois 61753
Telephone Number: 309-365-4591
E-mail:thefortoflex@aol.com
Website


Woodford County Historical Society

Taxation[edit | edit source]

1842-1879 Tax Sale Record IRAD-ISU

1842-1878 Tax Forfeiture Record IRAD-ISU

1853-1871 Tax Deed Affidaviats IRAD-ISU

1860-1880 Tax Judgment Record IRAD-ISU

1857-1888 Tax Assessment Abstracts IRAD-ISU

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Order Birth and Death Certificates Online

Birth Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1877-1916 Birth Record Index IRAD-ISU. Available at the Family History Library. FHL film 1401898

Marriage Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1841-1901 Marriage Record Index IRAD-ISU

Death Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1877-1915 Death Record Index IRAD-ISU. Available at the Family History Library FHL Film 1401898 Item 4
  • 1910-1917 Death Record, Coroner's IRAD-ISU

Voter Registration[edit | edit source]

  • 1865-1890 Voter Registers IRAD-ISU

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Databases Pertinent to Woodford County
Local Governmental Records Database
Name Index to Illinois Local Governments
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index
Illinois Statewide Death Index, 1916–1950
Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
Federal Township Plats of Illinois
Woodford County Almshouse Registers Index (1868–1957)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Woodford County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Woodford County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodford_County,_Illinois 04/20/2017.
  4. Hardin County Fact Sheet, Illinois State Archives, accessed May 28, 2011.