To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Woodchurch, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Woodchurch, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Woodchurch, Cheshire
Woodchurch, Birkenhead Holy Cross.JPG
Woodchurch, Birkenhead Holy Cross
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1581
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WOODCHURCH (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, South division of Cheshire; with the townships of Arrowe, Barnston, Landican, Noctorum, Oxton, Pensby, Prenton, Thingwall, and part of Irby.[1]

Woodchurch, Holy Cross (Church of England). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Arrowe, Barnston, Claughton cum Grange (part), Irby (part), Landican, Noctorum, Oxton, Pensby, Prenton, Thingwall and Woodchurch.

The cross probably stood intact in the graveyard until the 17th century when many such crosses were destroyed by the Puritans it has been said. In the 14th century the south aisle, chancel and tower were added. The south aisle was rebuilt in the 16th century and a south porch was added. Heavy diagonal buttresses were added to the tower in 1675. The vestry was built in 1766.  The north aisle by Hubert Worthington was added in 1964–65.

From the Ancient parish two later parishes were created:

Barnston, Christ Church (C of E). The parish church since 1880.
Pensby, St. Michael and All Angels (C of E). Founded 1958 as a chapel to Barnston. Registers of Baptisms from 1958 and Marriages from 1964 are held at the church.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Woodchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Woodchurch Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Woodchurch, St. Michael & All Angels (Roman Catholic). Founded 1952.
  • Woodchurch, Methodist Chapel. Founded 1957, Built in 1963.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Wirral (1837–1974)
  • Birkenhead (1974–1998)
  • Wirral (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Woodchurch on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 19 April 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


http://www.achurchnearyou.com/woodchurchholycross/ For details about the parish

Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/pages/Holy-Cross-Church-Woodchurch/139286336089311

Wikipaedia page http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holy_Cross_Church,_Woodchurch

Gen UKI page http://www.ukbmd.org.uk/genuki/chs/woodchurch.html

Bibliography[edit | edit source]

  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 81, ISBN 1871731232 
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 364–367
  • Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, pp. 193, ISBN 0 907768 18 0
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 105–106, ISBN 0 300 09588 0