Woodbury with Exton, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Woodbury with Exton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Woodbury with Exton, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||St Thomas|
|Registration District||St Thomas|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Custos and College of Vicars Choral in Exeter; Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WOODBURY (St. Swithin), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of St. Thomas, hundred of East Budleigh, Woodbury and S. divisions of Devon, 3 miles (E. by S.) from Topsham. The navigable river Exe bounds it on the west.and EXTON, a hamlet in Woodbury parish, Devon.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Woodbury with Exton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Woodbury with Exton, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Plymouth Brethren
- Protestant Dissenters
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Woodbury with Exton on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 27 August 2013.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date accessed: 27 August 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.