Wood Green, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
Wood Green

Guide to Wood Green, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wood Green, Middlesex
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edmonton
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Edmonton
Registration District Edmonton
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Tottenham [All Hallows]
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History

WOOD-GREEN, a ward and a chapelry in Tottenham parish, Middlesex. The ward lies on the Great Northern railway, at Alexandra Park, 6 miles N of St. Paul's, London; and has a post-office under Tottenham, London N, and a r. station.[1]

St Michael WOOD-GREEN, a ward and a chapelry in Tottenham parish, Middlesex. The chapelry is less extensive than the ward, and was built by 1844.[2]

Additional information:

Before 1843 the people of Wood Green would walk all the way over to All Hallows, Tottenham to worship. In 1843 however, they made a request for a church of their own. St Michael's Chapel of Ease was built to designs by Messrs Scott (later Sir Gilbert) and Moffatt, and was consecrated on October 3rd 1844. The land the church had been built on was not very stable though and the building began to crack. Around the same time the population of the area was increasing rapidly, and the church was considered far too small.

In 1859 it was decided to demolish the old church and build a much larger Nave � the Nave we see today. In 1871 a new Chancel was added, and a Tower in 1874 followed by a Spire in 1887 designed by Sir Gilbert Scott.[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wood Green parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Wood Green Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wood Green in Tottenham on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales,(Edinburgh: A, Fullerton and Co., 1870). Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.
  3. St Michael Wood Green website St Michael Wood Green website. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk