Wooburn, Buckinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Wooburn, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wycombe|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WOOBURN (St. Paul), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Wycombe, hundred of Desborough, county of Buckingham, 3 miles (W. S. W.) from Beaconsfield.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Wooburn parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|ANC = Ancestry - ($)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Wooburn Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1611-1635, 1716-1726, 1748-1756
1750-1760, 1783-1812, 1852-1887
|FS Catalog PRs||1653-1918||1653-1918||1653-1918|
|FS Catalog BTs||1600-1837||1600-1837||1600-1837|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Wooburn on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis,Samuel A., A Topgraphical Dictionary of England and Wales (1848) Date Accessed: 22 April 2014.