Wolviston, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Wolviston, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wolviston St Peter Co Durham
|Poor Law Union||Stockton|
|Parish registers: 1759|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1794|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WOLVISTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Billingham, union of Stockton, NE division of Stockton ward, S division of Durham county, 4½ miles N by E from Stockton, on the road to Sunderland. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Additional information: Wolviston St Peter an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Durham, created in 1738 from a chapelry in Billingham Billingham, Durham Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Newton Bewley.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Wolviston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wolviston Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Heaviside, George Coulson. An F.R.S. from Morley. History and family names of John Heaviside born 1607, and Ann nee Porter, his wife married 11 November 1643. Descendants move about Billingham, Stockton on Tees, Wolviston, Marylebone, London, with some in USA, Canada, and Australia. Surnames, Story, Wilson, Moore, Laws, Taylor, Winlow, Smith and West, dated 1607-1955. Article in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 35,no.1.page 21-24. Family History Library Reference, 942.8 B2jo v.35 no.1 (spring 2010
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records tofind the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Wolviston on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.