To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wolverton, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Wolverton, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wolverton, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newport
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Potterspury
Registration District Potterspury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1536
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WOLVERTON (Holy Trinity), a parish in the union of Potter's-Pury, hundred of Newport, county of Buckingham, 1 mile (E. N. E.) from Stony-Stratford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

WOLVERTON, a small town and a parish in the district of Potterspury and county of Buckingham. The town stands on the Northwestern railway, at the junction of the line to Newport-Pagnell, 2 miles ENE of Stony-Stratford. [2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Wolverton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Wolverton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1536-1903
1536-1931
1536-1905
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1604-1830, 1665-1755, 1758-1811, 1813-1854
1604-1830, 1673-1728
1604-1830, 1665-1745
FS Catalog PRs
1536-1931
1536-1931
1536-1931
FS Catalog BTs
1575-1830
1575-1830
1575-1830

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Wolverton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England 1848 Date accessed and adapted 16 July 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72 Date accessed and adapted 16 July 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk