Wolfhalden Parish, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Switzerland Genealogy
Guide to Wolfhalden Parish, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents
Geography[edit | edit source]
Wolfhalden has an area of 7 square kilometers (2.7 square miles). The area is used thusly:
58% agriculture
30.5% forest
11.4% settlement
0.1% non-productive
Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell Ausserrhoden, including Wolfhalden.
History[edit | edit source]
In 1650, Heiden and Wolfhalden couldn't agree about the control over the church. This led to the creation of a church in each village in 1652, making them independent.
Place Names[edit | edit source]
Locations within Wolfhalden[edit | edit source]
|
Altenstein |
Hinteregg |
Lindenberg |
Schönenbühl |
Surrounding Parishes[edit | edit source]
Click here for a map showing Wolfhalden in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell Ausserrhoden.
Heiden
Lutzenberg
Oberegg (Appenzell Innerrhoden)
Thal (Sankt Gallen)
Walzenhausen
Collections[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The parish records for Wolfhalden are now available online from the Appenzell Ausserrhoden State Archives. They are organized by volume. Click here to access these records.
Wolfhalden was established as a Reformed protestant parish in 1652 from the parishes of Grub and Rheineck. Records held by the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen), marriages (Heiraten), and burials (Toten) 1652-1875.
Family books (Familienbuch) are available, unless otherwise noted, at the Cantonal Archive for the following years:
Volume 1 (1736) - household visitation
Volume 2 (1819) - household visitation
Volume 3 (1820/1826) - household visitation
Volume 4 (1830) - household visitation
Volume 5 (1830) - citizen family register, also available here at the Family History Library
Volume 6 (1834) - household visitation
Volume 7 (1840) - household visitation
Volume 8 (1844) - household visitation
Volume 9 (1844) - household visitation
Volume 10 (1852) - household visitation
Volume 11 (1856) - household visitation
Volume 12 (1863) - household visitation
Census Records[edit | edit source]
(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)
The following censuses are available for Wolfhalden. They are cataloged under Thal:
| Census Year | FHL Film number | item number | beginning page |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1634 | 1185140 | 2 | 803 |
| 1637 | 1185142 | 2 | 601 |
| 1640 | 1185144 | 1 | 805 |
| 1643 | 1185147 | 1 | 783 |
| 1646 | 1185148 | 2 | 959 |
| 1649 | 1185150 | 1 | 479 |
| 1652 | 1185150 | 3 | 1317 |
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)
Künzler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 1,183,714)
Lutz family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,973; see also FHL Film 193,478)
Niederer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,965; see also FHL Film 193,480)
Sturzenegger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,485)
Tobler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,006; see also FHL Film 193,485 and 193,486)
Tobler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 962,837; see also FHL Film 193,485 and 193,486)
Walser family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,486)
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Civil registration began in 1876. Wolfhalden belongs to the Vorderland civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:
Zivilstandsamt Vorderland Appenzell Ausserrhoden
St. Gallerstrasse 9
Postfach 13
CH - 9038 Rehetobel
Tel: +41 71 878 70 20
email: jeannette.eisenhut@rehetobel.ar.ch
Surnames[edit | edit source]
The following surnames held citizenship in Wolfhalden prior to 1875:
|
Anhorn (extinct) |
Keller |
Schwalm |
Related Sources[edit | edit source]
The town's website (in German) can be found here.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Cantonal Archive of Appenzell Ausserrhoden (in German)
References[edit | edit source]
Registry of Appenzell Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos
