Wolfe County, Quebec Genealogy
|Quebec Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Wolfe county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
- 1 Online Records
- 2 History
- 3 Populated Places Table
- 4 Online Gazetteers
- 5 How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Records
- 6 Civil Registration in the Quebec Library and Archives
- 7 Church Records: The Drouin Collection
- 8 Writing for Birth, Marriage, and Death Records After 1900
- 9 The FamilySearch Collection
- 10 Census
- 11 Emigration and Immigration Records
- 12 Reading French Records
Online Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch[edit | edit source]
- 1621-1979 - Quebec, Catholic Parish Registers, 1621-1979 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. Partial index only.
- 1621-1979 - Quebec, Catholic Parish Registers, 1621-1979 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. Browseable images.
- 1763-1967 - Quebec, Non-Catholic Parish Registers, 1763-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. Browseable images.
- 1642-1902 - Quebec Index to Civil Copy of Church Records, 1642-1902 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. Browseable images. Incomplete.
- Loiselle card index to many marriages of the province of Quebec and adjacent areas
- Supplement to Loiselle card index to many marriages of the province of Quebec and adjacent areas
Ancestry.com[edit | edit source]
Ancestry.com can be used free-of-charge at a Family History Center near you.
- 1621-1968 - Quebec, Canada, Vital and Church Records (Drouin Collection), 1621-1968, index and images. ($)
- 1647-1942 - Quebec Notarial Records (Drouin Collection), 1647-1942, index and images. ($)
- 1695-1968 - U.S., French Catholic Church Records (Drouin Collection), 1695-1954, index and images. ($)
- 1802-1967 - Ontario, Canada, Catholic Church Records (Drouin Collection), 1802-1967, index and images. ($)
Other Online Indexed Databases[edit | edit source]
- BMS2000 Database, index and images. ($) A database of baptism, marriage and burial records of 14 million records. There is a charge for consulting the BMS2000 database.
- PRDH Database, index and images. ($) Computerized population register, with biographical files of for European settlers of St. Lawrence Valley.
- Fichier Origine (Original File) Database, index and images. ($) Index of civil status documents and notarial deeds for French and foreign emigrants. Free-of-charge.
History[edit | edit source]
The County of Wolfe was a municipal county of Quebec that existed between 1855 and the early 1980s . The area where he is now divided between three administrative regions, unusual thing: the regions of Estrie , for the most part, the Centre-du-Québec and Chaudière-Appalaches . It is included in the MRC of Haut-Saint-François , the Granite , the Sources , of Arthabaska and Appalachia . The name of the county honors General James Wolfe , but it was in the form Wolfestown that it was first given in 1802 to a township . The Township of Wolfestown is one of those who formed the territory of the county.
Populated Places Table[edit | edit source]
|POPULATED PLACE||FORMER NAME, if applicable||TYPE||FHL CATALOG||WIKIPEDIA|
|ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???||Link|
Online Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Records[edit | edit source]
Usually vital records (birth, marriage, and death) are found in civil registration and church records. In Quebec until 1900, civil (government) registration was kept by the churches, with a duplicate provided to the government. There are three ways to access these records:
- 1) church records in the Drouin collection, available online,
- 2) civil register duplicates of church records in the Quebec Library and Archives system, and
- 3) the records of the Family History Library (FamilySearch), online and microfilmed.
Civil Registration in the Quebec Library and Archives[edit | edit source]
In Quebec, the civil registers of births (baptisms), marriages and deaths (burials), which date from 1621, were duplicate copies of the church registers. This third source all of the pre-1900 records can be consulted at each of the nine regional offices of Bibliothèque et Archives Nationales du Québec.
Church Records: The Drouin Collection[edit | edit source]
Among other records, this database includes all the church records for the province of Quebec, that is, for the Adventist, Anglican, Apostolic, Baptist, Christ Church, Christian Brethren, Christian Missionary Alliance, Church of Christ, Church of England, Church of Scotland, Congregational, Episcopal, Evangelical, Free Church, Greek Orthodox, Holiness Movement, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Romanian Orthodox, Pentecostal, Presbyterian, Protestant, Russian Orthodox, Salvation Army, Unitarian, United Church, and Universalist denominations. The types of records include baptisms, marriages, and burials as well as confirmations, dispensations, censuses, statements of readmission to the church, and so on. They are written mainly in French, as well as English, Latin, and Italian.
- The Drouin Collection is available by subscription ($13.00/month or $100.00/year as of December 2016) at Généalogie Québec.
- The Drouin Collection is also available on Ancestry. The Drouin Collection 1621-1967 ($). Ancestry.com can be used without charge at Family History Centers throughout the world.
For more information, see The Drouin Collection: Six Databases.
Writing for Birth, Marriage, and Death Records After 1900[edit | edit source]
- Certificates of births, marriages, and deaths from 1900 may be applied for through the online Quebec government site, or by writing to:
- Directeur de l'état civil
- 2535, boulevard Laurier
- Sainte-Foy, Quebec
- G1V 5C5
- Directeur de l'état civil
- For application forms, fee information, and identification requirements, click here.
- Only the person named in the record or that person's legal representative may have access to civil registration and civil copies of church records after 1900. Direct descendants qualify as representatives.
See also Quebec Civil Registration, for information on published vital records.
The FamilySearch Collection[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch has microfilmed the entire collection of civil records in the Quebec Library and Archives.
Online Databases[edit | edit source]
Many of the parish (church) records have been digitized and posted online. They are only partially indexed, so browsing the original records is more effective:
Microfilmed Church/Civil Records[edit | edit source]
All of the church/civil records have been microfilmed by FamilySearch.These microfilms may be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:
- a. Click on records for Canada, Québec, Wolfe. You will see a list of available records for the county.
- b. You will also see above the list the link Places within Canada, Québec, Wolfe . This will take you to a list of towns in the counties, which are links to records for the specific town.
- c. Click on any topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
Census[edit | edit source]
Census records can play an important role in identifying all members of a family. They then guide your search in the vital records because you have more clues as to who you are looking for.
- Automated Genealogy census indices for 1851, 1901, 1906, 1911.
- Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825, index/images. Also at MyHeritage, ($), index
- Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1831, index/images
- Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1842, index/images
- Canada Census, 1851, index. Also at Ancestry.com, ($), index/images
- 1861 Census of Canada, ($), index/images
- Canada Census, 1871, index . Also at Ancestry.com, ($), index/images.
- Canada Census, 1881 Index and Images. Also at Library and Archives Canada Index and images, and at Ancestry.com ($) Index and Images.
- Canada Census, 1891 Index only. Also at Ancestry.com ($) Index and Images.
- Canada Census, 1901 Index only. Also at Library and Archives Canada Index and images, and at Ancestry.com ($) Index and Images.
- Canada Census, 1911 Index only. Also at Library and Archives Canada Index and images, and at Ancestry.com ($) Index and Images.
- Canada, Prairie Provinces Census, 1916, index
- 1921 Census of Canada ($) Index and Images.
Emigration and Immigration Records[edit | edit source]
- 1621-1865 - Quebec, Quebec Federation of Genealogical Societies, Family Origins, 1621-1865 at FamilySearch — index
Reading French Records[edit | edit source]
- It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
- "Genealogy in 8 Lessons", at Quebec Federation off Genealogical Societies, http://federationgenealogie.qc.ca/guide-ressources/8-lecons, accessed 17 October 2020.