To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Wokingham, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wokingham, Berkshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Wokingham, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wokingham, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amesbury; Sonning
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wokingham
Registration District Wokingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1674
Bishop's Transcripts: 1580
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WOKINGHAM (All Saints), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Sonning, county of Berks, 7 miles (E. S. E.) from Reading, and 32 (W. S. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Wokingham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Berkshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Wokingham Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1589-1916
1589-1837
1580-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


IGI 1674-1812,1828-1831
1675-1722,1723-1812


FS Catalog PRs
1436-1971, 1674-1812
1436-1971, 1674-1812
1436-1971, 1674-1812
FS Catalog BTs
1580-1836
1580-1836
1580-1836

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Wokingham in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 639-643. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch