Witton le Wear, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Durham
Durham Parishes
Witton le Wear

Guide to Witton le Wear, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Witton le Wear, Durham
Witton-le-Wear St Philip & St James co Durham.jpg
Witton-le-Wear St Philip & St James co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Auckland
Registration District Auckland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

WITTON-LE-WEAR (St. Philip and St. James), a parish, in the union of Auckland, N. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 5 miles (W. N. W.) from Bishop-Auckland.[1]

Additional information: Witton le Wear is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Durham, created in 1724 from chapelry in Auckland St Andrew, Durham Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: North Bedburn and Witton Park.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. RDurham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/278 1765-1859. Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.  The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. The Parish Registers for the period 1558-1978 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/WW).

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Auckland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

LRMaps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.England Jurisdictions 1851 and Vision of Britain

 Websites

Witton le Wear on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.