Withycombe Raleigh with Exmouth All Saints, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Withycombe Raleigh with Exmouth All Saints, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Withycombe Raleigh with Exmouth All Saints, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||St Thomas|
|Registration District||St Thomas|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WITHYCOMBE - RAWLEIGH, a parish, in the union of St. Thomas, hundred of East Budleigh, Woodbury and S. divisions of Devon with part of the town of Exmouth. It is bounded on the west by the river Exe. A portion of the church was taken down about 1745, and a new edifice erected about half a mile from Exmouth.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Withycombe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Withycombe Parish Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Plymouth Brethren
- Protestant Dissenters
- Wesleyan Methodist
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Withycombe Raleigh with Exmouth, but the exact parish has not been identified:
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Withycombe Raleigh on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-636. Date accessed: 06 November 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.