Withington, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Withington

Guide to Withington, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Withington, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bradley
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Northleach
Registration District Northleach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1609
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winchcombe
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Withington
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

WITHINGTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of North leach, hundred of Bradley, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 6 miles (W.) from Northleach. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Withington, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
WITHINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1753 1600-1753 1600-1812 1600-1812
AC 1813-1911 1813-1911 1813-1938 1813-1938 1813-1981 1813-1981
FHSO 1800-1837
FREG 1609-1901 1615-1837 1610-1871

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Withington was a peculiar under the Bishop of Gloucester.  For information about probate records in England, click here

  • Click here for information about the Court of the Peculiar of Withington and its probate records. 
  • Index: click here for an alphabetical list of the 97 persons whose wills were proven in the peculiar court between 1622 and 1776.

Steps:

  • Look in the index to the Court of the Peculiar of Withington by clicking on the link above.
  • If you find reference to a will of interest to you, click on the link above for information about the probate court's records.
  • Obtain a copy of the will, either by writing to England or by viewing it on microfilm.  Click here for more information.
  • If no reference of interest is found, search the records of the Court of the Bishop of Gloucester. If you are looking for a will after 1776, you should also check the Bishop's court.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References