Wisconsin Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wisconsin Wiki Topics
Wisconsin flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wisconsin Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]

Population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.

Wisconsin was admitted to the Union as the 30th state on 29 May 1848. It was created from Wisconsin Territory. [1] Residents of Wisconsin can be found in every census from 1820 on. In 1820 and 1830, they will be listed under Michigan territory.

United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
1820 1830 1840
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1850 1860 1870
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1880 1890 1900
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1910 1920 1930
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1940
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com

Non-Population Schedules for Wisconsin[edit | edit source]

Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.

Year Type of Census Links
1840 Pensioners Google Book

Ancestry - index and images ($)

1850 Mortality Ancestry - index ($)
1860 Mortality Ancestry - index ($)
1870 Mortality Ancestry - index ($)
1880 Mortality Ancestry - index ($)
1890 Veterans Ancestry - index and images ($)

Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]

Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]

State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.

Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.

Year Type of Census Links
1836 Territory Contact the Wisconsin Historical Society
1837 Territory Contact the Wisconsin Historical Society
1838 Territory Contact the Wisconsin Historical Society
1842 Territory Contact the Wisconsin Historical Society
1846 Territory Contact the Wisconsin Historical Society
1847 Territory Contact the Wisconsin Historical Society
1855 State; gives name of head of household. FamilySearch - index and images

Ancestry ($) - index and images.

1865 State, partial; gives name of head of household. FamilySearch - index and images, only covers 6 counties.

Ancestry ($) - index and images.

1875 State; gives name of head of household. FamilySearch - index and images

Ancestry ($) - index and images.

1885 State; gives name of head of household. FamilySearch - index and images

Ancestry ($) - index and images.

1895 State; gives name of head of household. FamilySearch - index and images

Ancestry ($) - index and images.

1905 State; gives names of all household members. FamilySearch - index and images

Ancestry ($) - index and images.

Other Census Images[edit | edit source]

Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]

State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:

  • Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
  • Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
  • Sex
  • Age
  • Color
  • Nativity
  • Place of birth of this person
  • Place of birth of Father of this person
  • Place of birth of Mother of this person
  • Period of Residence
  • How long a resident of this State (years and months)
  • How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
  • Regular occupation
  • Military service

Reference List[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 31 Oct 2016.