Winterton, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Winterton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||East and West Flegg|
|Parish registers: 1717|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WINTERTON (All Saints), a parish, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of West Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 8¾ miles (N. by W.) from Yarmouth. 
Winterton All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
A Church is known to have existed in Winterton (known then as Wintretona) from Saxon times. Some experts have suggested East Somerton was the original parent community, whose farmers took their boats during the wintertime to fish in the North Sea, so that by Norman times Winterton had become a community in its own right, nearer the coast. This probably explains the name of the village - the 'tun' (settlement) used in winter.
The earliest remaining part of the Church dedicated now to The Holy Trinity and All Saints is from the 13th century and the tower is visible at sea.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Flegg 1837-1924
- Yarmouth and Flegg 1925-1938
- Acle 1938-1974
- Norwich Outer
Church records[edit | edit source]
Winterton, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Winterton, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Winterton cum east Somerton Norfolk Record Office reference PD 463/1-8
East Somerton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|East Somerton Parish Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
King, I.R. The Kings of Winterton. History and family tree of Abel King born 1741 and Jane Hodds (Hodge) of Winterton, Hethersett and Waxham, with the following surnames, Derry, George, Brown, Salter, Haylett, Amis, Sutton, Sheales, Flaxman, Green and Rex. Dated 1739-1944 and is in The Norfolk Ancestor. vol. 7 pt. 12, pages 501-503, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j n.6-13
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's website: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Flegg/Flegg.shtml
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Winterton on GenUKI
- Winterton Holy Trinity All Saints on A Church Near You
- History of the church
- Tour of the village and church
- Winterton on Norfolk Churches
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 622-625. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
- Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.