Winterbourne Dauntsey, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Winterbourne Dauntsey

Guide to Winterbourne Dauntsey, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Winterbourne Dauntsey, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alderbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Amesbury
Registration District Amesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Chute and Chisenbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

WINTERBOURNE DANTSEY or DANNERY (St. Edward), a parish, in the union of Amesbury, hundred of Alderbury, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 4 miles (N. E. by N.) from Salisbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Winterbourne Dauntsey, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Winterbourne Dauntsey, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1560-1886


NBI

1562-1837
NIM 1560-1837
1561-1837
1560-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 620-622. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.