Winterbourne, Gloucestershire Genealogy
Guide to Winterbourne, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Langley and Swinehead|
|Poor Law Union||Clifton|
|Parish registers: 1600|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1673|
|Diocese||Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WINTERBOURNE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Clifton, Upper division of the hundred of Langley and Swine head, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 6 miles (N. E. by N.) from Bristol. This parish is situated on the road from Bristol to Oxford, and watered by the small river Frome. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|WINTERBOURNE PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1642-1996 England, Gloucestershire Non-conformist Records, 1642-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 620-622. Date accessed: 19 March 2013.
Winterbourne Family History Online is hosted by Frenchay Village Museam. Follow the link below.
Once there by clicking on the "Archive" tab you will be taken to the key page for all the research data available on the website. Listed in the archive is transcribed Parish Register Records for St Michael, Winterbourne Down All Saints, Frenchay St.John the Baptist and Frampton Cotterell St. Peter's covering the years 1600-2002 for Baptisms, Marriages and Burials.. Also available are Census records from 1841-1901 as well as quite a bit of history about Winterbourne.