To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Winsford, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Winsford, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

OVER (St. Chad), a market-town and parish, having separate jurisdiction, locally in the First division of the hundred of Eddisbury, partly in the union of Nantwich, but chiefly in that of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester. Between the parishes of Over and Davenham, is Winsford bridge, where the navigation ends. There is a place of worship for Independents. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

The district church for Stockport Etchells from 1882.

Gatley Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Winsford Christ Church Chapelry (1844) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1844-1854
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Winsford is formerly a chapelry attached to Over parish, but located in Davenham parish. Winsford is a village in Wharton township. Called Christ Church.

 Here is a list of registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Bishop's transcripts for Winsford, 1844-1854 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 223

Bishops Transcripts: Winsford
Film
Baptisms, 1844-1854.
1647761 Item 4
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • New Connexion Methodist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • United Methodist Free

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Church records for St. Paul's United Methodist Free Chapel, Winsford, 1868-1958 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 236/1/1-5; EMS 236/2/1-3.

Church records for St. Paul's United Methodist Free Chapel, Winsford Film
Baptisms, 1868-1924. Marriages, 1921-1958.
2299528 Items 9 - 16

Church records for the Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel, Winsford, 1901-1919 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 232/1/1.

Church records for the Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel, Winsford Film
Baptisms, 1901-1919.
2299528 Item 4

Church records for the Central Primitive Methodist Chapel, Winsford, 1861-1914 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 233/1/1-2.

Church records for the Central Primitive Methodist Chapel, Winsford Film
Baptisms, 1861-1885, 1905-1914.
2299528 Items 5 - 6

Church records for the New Connexion Methodist Church, Winsford, 1904-1952 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 235/1/1, EMS 235/2/1.

Church records for the New Connexion Methodist Church, Winsford Film
Baptisms, 1904-1931. Marriages, 1938-1952.
2299528 Items 7 - 8

Church records for the Wharton Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Winsford, 1838-1957 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 237/1/1-4, EMS 237/2/1-4.

Church records for the Wharton Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Winsford
Film
Baptisms, 1838-1949. Marriages, 1904-1957.
2299528 Items 17 - 24

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Northwich (1837-1936)
  • Northwich (1936-74)
  • Vale Royal (1974-98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Northwich

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 495-498. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.


Bibliography[edit | edit source]


FamilySearch