Winnebago County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Winnebago County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Winnebago County


Guide to Winnebago County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Oshkosh
Organized: January 6, 1840
Parent County(s): Brown, Calumet, Fond du Lac, andMarquette Counties[1]
Neighboring Counties
Calumet  • Fond du Lac  • Green Lake  • Outagamie  • Waupaca  • Waushara
See County Maps
Courthouse
Winnebago County Wisconsin Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
WI Winnebago.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the historic Winnebago people, a federally recognized Native American tribe now known as the Ho-Chunk Nation. Chief Oshkosh was a leader in the area. The County has Oshkosh, Wisconsin as its seat and the County was created 1848. The County is located in the central east area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Winnebago County Courthouse
415 Jackson Street
Oshkosh, WI 54901
Phone: 920-236-4888
Winnebago County Website

Register of Deeds has birth and land records from 1861, marriage records from 1870 and death records.
Register in Probate has probate records. [3]

Winnebago County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1861 1870 1870 1848 1861 1838 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Winnebago County, Wisconsin:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Winnebago County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 135
1850 10,167 7431.1%
1860 23,770 133.8%
1870 37,279 56.8%
1880 42,740 14.6%
1890 50,097 17.2%
1900 58,225 16.2%
1910 62,116 6.7%
1920 63,897 2.9%
1930 76,622 19.9%
1940 80,507 5.1%
1950 91,103 13.2%
1960 107,928 18.5%
1970 129,931 20.4%
1980 131,703 1.4%
1990 140,320 6.5%
2000 156,763 11.7%
2010 166,994 6.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Winnebago census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Federal Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Oshkosh

Lutheran
Oshkosh

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Oshkosh, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Winnebago County

  • Records of the Lutheran Church, Winnebago County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Presbyterian
First Presbyterian Church, Neenah

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Winnebago County

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI WINNEBAGO.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Winnebago served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Winnebago:

Civil War service men from Winnebago County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Winnebago County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies D and E.
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies A and B.
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies E and K
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C (These men were from the town of Menasha. There is a town of Menasha in both Winnebago and Calumet Counties.)
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C

World War I

World War II

Winnebago County WWII Enlistees - Entry lists date and place of enlistment.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

  • Appleton Public Library Obituary Index which is located on the Fox River located in Outagamie, Calumet and Winnebago Counties. A partial index to obituaries and death notices published in Appleton newspapers. Currently, records are available for the following time periods. There are complete records for 1853-71; 1874; 1920-22; 1939-42; 1944; 1948-52; 1958-1960; 1970; 1980; 1981; 1992-94, and January 1, 2001 to December 6, 2011. Some records from 1848; 1875; 1889; 1899; 1923; 1930; 1945; 1954; 1957; 1969; 1971-73; 1981; 1982; 1987; and 1991 have been indexed.
  • Winnebago County Obituaries, A-H USGenWeb Archives
  • Winnebago County Obituaries, I-Q USGenWeb Archives
  • Winnebago County Obituaries, R-Z USGenWeb Archives

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Winnebago Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Winnebago Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Area Research Center
    Polk Library, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
    800 Algoma Blvd.
    Oshkosh, WI 54901
    Phone: 920-424-1234
    Website
    Contact info

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Polk Library, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
    Area Research Center
    800 Algoma Blvd.
    Oshkosh, WI 54901
    Phone: 920-424-1234
    Website
    Contact info

Museums

Societies

  • Winnebago County Historical & Archaeological Society
    234 Church Ave
    Oshkosh, WI 54901
    Phone: 920-426-4081
    Website
  • Hmong Cultural and Historical Society
    502 Waugoo Ave
    Oshkosh, WI 54901
    Phone: 920-426-4953
    Facebook
  • Menasha Historical Society
    233 Sunset Dr
    Menasha, WI 54952
    Phone: 920-722-8969
    Website
  • Neenah Historical Society
    PO Box 343
    Neenah, WI 54957-0343
    Phone: 920-729-0244
    Website
  • Omro Area Historical Society
    PO Box 133
    Omro, WI 54963
    Phone: 920-685-6123
    Website
  • Winchester Area Historical Society
    PO Box 84
    Larsen, WI 54947
    Phone: 920-836-3363
    Facebook
  • Winnebagoland Genealogical Society
    106 Washington Ave
    Oshkosh, WI 54901-4985
    Website
  • Winneconne Historical Society
    PO Box 262
    Winneconne, WI 54986
    Phone: 920-582-7887
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Winnebago County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winnebago_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Winnebago County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.