Wingerworth, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wingerworth, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Derbyshire
Derbyshire Parishes
Wingerworth

Guide to Wingerworth, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wingerworth, Derbyshire
Wingerworth All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Wingerworth All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brampton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

WINGERWORTH, a parish, and village and four hamlets of Tupton, Clay Cross, Grassmoor and Ashoverin are in the Chesterfield district, Derbyshire.[1]

WINGERWORTH, a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 2¾ miles (S. by W.) from Chesterfield.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wingerworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Wingerworth All Saints (1539) Chapelry Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1540-1776
  NONE
1553-1912
  NONE
1539-1887
  NONE

Wingerworth All Saints formerly a chapelry of Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 2662 has deposited registers Bap 1540-1976 Mar 1553-1989 Burial 1540-1887 Banns 1754-1812, 1823-1996

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1664-1868Mar 1664-1860 Burials 1664-1868 missing all events 1842-1843, 1853-1854. Missing Bap/Bur 1860

Non-Conformist Churches

Roman Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wingerworth on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, Publ. Lindon Edinburgh 1870. Date accessed: 25 June 2103.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 613-618. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.