To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Windsor Castle, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Windsor Castle, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Windsor Castle, Berkshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred New Windsor Borough
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Not Applicable
Registration District Windsor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1609; Separate registers exist for Windsor Chapel Royal beginning 1675
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire; Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Windsor
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WINDSOR CASTLE, (St George's Chapel) an extra-parochial royal seat in Windsor district, Berks, on the Thames, and within Windsor borough, 22 miles W by S of London. It comprises the collegiate chapel of St George. It is surrounded by New Windsor and located in the New Windsor Borough. Records for Windsor Castle may be located in New Windsor.

Its origin connects with Old Windsor. Windsor Castle and occupies more than twelve acres of ground, and comprises the upper, lower, and middle wards. An apartment adjoining St. George's Hall was consecrated in December, 1843, as a private chapel for Her Majesty.[1][2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Windsor Castle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Berkshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Windsor Castle Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP

1559-1837
1559-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


IGI 1614-1765
1627-1856


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Windsor Castle, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 592-613. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870), Adapted. Accessed: 17 April 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


FamilySearch