Windham County, Vermont Genealogy
Guide to Windham County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- This article is about Windham county in Vermont. For other uses, see Windham (disambiguation).
|Windham County, Vermont|
Location in the state of Vermont
|Founded||February 22, 1781|
|Address||Windham County Courthouse|
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 207, Newfane, VT 05345-0207
Windham County Website
- 1 Description
- 2 Windham County, Vermont Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 History
- 5 Places / Localities
- 6 Populated Places
- 7 Resources
- 8 Societies and Libraries
- 9 Websites
- 10 References
Description[edit | edit source]
The County is located in the southeast area of the state. 
Windham County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]
|at town creation||at town creation||at town creation||1825||1766||1781||1790|
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and land records; County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1825; Probate Judge has probate records.
Towns Organized Before 1800:
Windham 1795 
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|VTGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|VTTombstone Project||FamilySearch Places|
|See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.|
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments and Companies:
- - 1st Regiment, Vermont Heavy Artillery, Companies A B C D E F G and H
- - 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- - 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies D, F and I
- - 16th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies B, D, F and I
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has North Adams, MA newspapers (1895-1977) covering local news that included Windham County residents.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1749 - 1999 Vermont Wills and Probate Records 1749-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 - 1921 Vermont Probate Files 1800-1921 at FamilySearch — images - How to Use this Collection
There are two Windham County Probate Districts:
- Marlboro District - Brattleboro, Dover, Dummerston, Guilford, Halifax, Marlboro, Newfane, Somerset, Stratton, Vernon, Wardsboro, Whitingham and Wilmington.
- Westminster District - Athens, Brookline, Grafton, Jamaica, Londonderry, Putney, Rockingham (including Bellows Falls), Townshend, Westminster and Windham.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at Vermont, Windham County Westminster District Probates - FamilySearch Historical Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Town Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850-2005 - Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1732 - 2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1850 - 2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- Birth Certificate,
- Marriage Certificate ,
- Divorce Certificate,
- Civil Union Dissolution Certificate, or
- Death Certificate
Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Historical Societies[edit | edit source]
- Dover Historical Society
1829 Harris House
63 Copper Hill
West Dover Village
PO Box 128
East Dover, Vermont 05341-0053
- Bellows Falls Historical Society
31 Westminster St.
Bellows Falls, VT 05101
- Brattleboro Historical Society, Inc
230 Main Street #301
Brattleboro, VT 05301-6392
- Dummerston Historical Society
PO Box 8064
North Brattleboro, VT 05304
- Guilford Historical Society
236 School Road
Guilford VT 05301
- Historical Society of Windham County
Rte 30, Main Street
PO Box 246
Newfane, VT 05345
- Jamaica Historical Foundation
3417 VT Rte 30
Jamaica, VT 05343
- Marlboro Historical Society
PO Box 242
Marlboro, VT 05344
- Putney Historical Society
PO Box 260
Putney, VT 05346
- Saxtons River Historical Society
PO Box 18
Saxtons River, VT 05154
- Townshend Historical Society
PO Box 202
Townshend, VT 05353
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Vermont Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog FamilySearch Catalog for Windham County
- The Windham County VTGenWeb Project, a member of The VTGenWeb Project , an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Windham County
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Windham, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windham_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Windham County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699, Windham County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Windham_ County,_Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windham_County,_Vermont accessed 29 October 2019.
- Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394-95. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.