Windham County, Connecticut Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Windham County, Connecticut)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Connecticut
Windham County
This is about a county in Connecticut. For other uses, see Windham (disambiguation).

Guide to Windham County, Connecticut ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Windham County, Connecticut
Map
Map of Connecticut highlighting Windham County
Location in the state of Connecticut
Facts
Founded May 12, 1726
County Seat Putnam
Courthouse
Address 155 Church Street
Putnam, CT 06260
Phone: 860-928.2779
Windham County Website


County Information

Description

  • Named for Windham, Sussex, England.
  • The County is located in the northeastern corner of the state.[1]

County Courthouse

  • Town Clerks have birth, marriage and land records from 1692 and burial records from 1900
  • Probate Judge has probate records.[2]
  • Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce records.

Windham County, Connecticut

Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Windham County, Connecticut
  • Connecticut no longer has county governments
  • local government is at the town level.

Towns Organized Before 1800:

  • Ashford 1714
  • Brooklyn 1786
  • Canterbury 1703
  • Hampton 1786
  • Killingly 1708
  • Painfield 1699
  • Pomfret 1713
  • Sterling 1794
  • Thompson 1785
  • Windham 1692
  • Woodstock (New Roxbure) 1686

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[3]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
  • Oneco
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Commemorative biographical record of Tolland and Windham counties, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois : J.H. Beers, 1903).  Includes fullname index (in part 1 for pts. 1 and 2).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.64 D3c pt. 1 and 2, or FHL US/CAN Film 982349.
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Genealogical Society. Volunteer Aids, Index to Commemorative biographical record of Tolland and Windham counties, Connecticut, part 1, Manuscript.  Includes fullname index to part 1 but only through pt. 1's page 602.  Available online at ancestry.com$.  Available in the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.64 D3c pt. 1 index. 

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Windham County, Connecticut online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Connecticut Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 28,881
1800 28,222 −2.3%
1810 28,611 1.4%
1820 31,684 10.7%
1830 27,082 −14.5%
1840 28,080 3.7%
1850 31,081 10.7%
1860 34,747 11.8%
1870 38,518 10.9%
1880 43,856 13.9%
1890 45,158 3.0%
1900 46,861 3.8%
1910 48,361 3.2%
1920 52,815 9.2%
1930 54,086 2.4%
1940 56,223 4.0%
1950 61,759 9.8%
1960 68,572 11.0%
1970 84,515 23.3%
1980 92,312 9.2%
1990 102,525 11.1%
2000 109,091 6.4%
2010 118,428 8.6%
Source: Wikipedia.org".

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

For tips on accessing Windham County, Connecticut Genealogy census records online, see: Connecticut Census.

Church Records

  • Connecticut Genealogy, Windham County Church Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Includes church and vital records.
  • Linkpendium, Church Records, Windham County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • John Sherman, A view of ecclesiastical proceedings in the county of Windham, Connecticut in which the original association of the county and a few members of the First Church in Mansfield were concerned; containing public documents, letters &c. relative to the subject; to which are annexed, the result of council, and addresses to the society, the church, the youth of Mansfield and others, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1993).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1697816 Item 17.
  • Woodstock Methodist Episcopal Church (Woodstock, Connecticut), Church records, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1987).  Includes baptisms 1850-1863, marriages 1850-1861, and membership 1849-1865.  Also includes records of East Woodstock Methodist Episcopal Church, West Woodstock Methodist Episcopal Church, and North Woodstock Methodist Episcopal Church.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1508864 Item 2.

Court Records

  • Windham County Connecticut Court Records Directory, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Windham County), Court expenses, 1826-1883 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1638582 Item 2.
  • Grace Louise Knox & Barbara B. Ferris, Connecticut divorces Superior Court records for the counties of New London, Tolland & Windham, 1719-1910 , (Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, c1987).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 P2k.
  • Marcella Houle Pasay, Family secrets 18th & 19th century birth records found in the Windham County, Ct., County Court records & files, at the CT State Library Archives, Hartford, (Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, c2000).  Includes index.  Includes some records from towns in surrounding counties.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.645 V2p.
  • Marcella Houle Pasay, The Windham County, CT, county court records, (Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, c2000-c2002). Includes (v. 1) name/location and case indexes and (v. 2) name, place, and subject indexes. Contents: v. 1. abstracts of volume 1 [1726-1732], CT State Library Archives, Captial Avenue, Hartford, CT -- v. 2. abstracts of volume 2 [1732-1736] , Connecticut State Library Archives, Captial Avenue, Hartford, CT. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.645 P28p v. 1 and 2.

Directories

  • Linkpendium, Directories, Windham County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Danielson (Connecticut) city directories, (Woodbridge, Connecticut : Research Publications, [199-?]).   Available at the Family History Library, 1913 FHL US/CAN Film 2308484 Item 1, 1921-22, Item 2. 1923-24, Item 3 and 1927-28, Item 4.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Windham County Genealogy 858 Windham county genealogy record sources.
  • William L. Weaver, History of Ancient Windham, Ct.--Genealogy, part 1: A--BIL. Willimantic, Connecticut : Weaver & Curtiss, 1865. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • William L. Weaver, History of Ancient Windham--Genealogy, parts XC through XCVII--Elderkin. Lakeland, Florida : R.D. Elderkin, c1. Available at the Family History Library, FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1, or FHL US/CAN Fiche 6017293.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

  • Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other related documents were recorded by the town clerk and are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee. There is no statewide index.
  • The Family History Library and the Connecticut State Library have microfilm copies of many proprietors' and town records from the earliest years to the mid or late 1800s. Some are as recent as the 1900s. They are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under the name of the town.
  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, Windham County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1856, (Washington, District of Columbia : Library of Congress, 1983).  Available online at flickr from yahoo, (accessed 3 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079305.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Kent CountyProvidence CountyWorcester CountyHampden CountyTolland CountyNew London CountyCT WINDHAM.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Windham County, Gazetteer, (accessed 2 Mar 2011). Ctwindham.jpg

Migration

Military Records

American Revolution

Civil War

Service men from Windham County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from Windham County.

  1. 7th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company K
  2. 18th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company H and K
  3. 21st Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company K

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Connecticut. County Court (Windham County), Naturalizations, 1855 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1378199 Item 2.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court and County Court (Windham County), Declarations of intentions, 1855-1906, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Indexes are found within each volume.  Includes records of the County Court, 1855-1856.  Available at the Famiy History Library, 1855-1892 FHL US/CAN Film 1378200 Items 4-5, and 1892-1906 FHL US/CAN Film 1378201 Item 1.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Windham County), Naturalization records (Windham County, Connecticut), 1906-1945, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983-2008).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2436082 Item 3. (12 Films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Windham County), Naturalizations, 1855-1906 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Indexes included within each volume.  Available at the Family History Library, 1855-1863 FHL US/CAN Film 1378199 Item 1, and 1866-1888 Item 3-4 and 1888-1906 FHL US/CAN Film 1378200 Items 1 - 3.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Windham County), Index to naturalization records 1927-1974 (Windham County, Connecticut - Superior Court), (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2003).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 2369780 Item 2.

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Minorities

  • Marcella Houle Pasay, Full circle a directory of Native and African Americans in Windham County, CT, and vicinity, 1650-1900, (Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, c2002).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.645 F2p v. 1, and FHL US/CAN Book 974.645 F2p v. 2.

Periodicals

Probate Records

Connecticut State Library Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Records. Online Probate Records

School Records

  • John Keep, Adin Webb and Baptist Church in Homer, New York, Miscellaneous records of Homer, New York, 1794-1860 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 17702, or FHL US/CAN Film 1421103 Items 2-4.

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

  • 1883-1932 - Windham County (Connecticut). Coroner, Coroner's records, 1883-1932, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1988).  Indexes are included within each volume. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1602848 Item 4, (first of 5 films).
  • Linkpendium, Vital Records, Windham County.

Divorce

  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Windham County), Divorce papers, 1726-1907 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990).  Available at the Family History Library beginning with, FHL US/CAN Film 1638582 Item 3, (27 films)

See also How to order Connecticut Vital Records

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies, Libraries, and Museums

The Ashford Historical Society Inc
5 Town Hall Road
Ashford CT 06278
860 429-4568
E-Mail: joan@ashfordhistoricalsociety.org
Website

Canterbury Historical Society
P.O. Box 2
Canterbury, CT 06331
Facebook
Website

Eastern Connecticut State University (ECSU)
J. Eugene Smith Library 83 Windham Street
Willimantic, Connecticut 06226
860 465-5563
E-Mail: hurtt@easternct.edu
Website

Killingly Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc.
196 Main St
. P. O. Box #265
Danielson, CT 06239
860-779-7250
Website

Windham Historical Society/Jillson House Museum
P.O. Box 105
627 Main Street
Willimantic, CT 06226
860.456.2316
Email: jillson@windhamhistory.org
Website


Woodstock Historical Society
P.O. Box 65
523 CT-169
Woodstock CT 06281
860.928.1035
E-Mail: collectionsWHS@gmail.com
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Windham County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windham_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113, 181. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Wikipedia contributors,"Windham County, Connecticut, " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windham_County,_Connecticut, accessed 13 October 2018.