To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Windermere, Westmorland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Windermere, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Windermere, Westmorland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kendal
County Westmorland
Poor Law Union Kendal
Registration District Kendal
Records begin
Parish registers: 1613
Bishop's Transcripts: 1634
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kendal
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal
Location of Archive
Westmorland Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WINDERMERE, (St. Martin), a parish, in Kendal ward and union, county of Westmorland, 9 miles(W. N. W.) from Kendal; containing, with the posttown of Bowness, the townships of Applethwaite and Undermilbeck, the chapelry of Troutbeck, and part of Ambleside. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Windermere parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Windermere Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


JOIN

1538-1837


IGI 1694-1823, 1824-1855
1726-1863, 1813-1907


FS Catalog PRs
1613-1907
1613-1907
1613-1907
FS Catalog BTs
1706-1868
1706-1868
1706-1868

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Kendal Archive Centre.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 592-613. Date accessed: 13 July 2012.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk