Winchester St Cross with St Faith, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Winchester St Cross with St Faith, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Winchester St Cross with St Faith, Hampshire|
|Poor Law Union||Winchester|
|Parish registers: 1670|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of St Faith or St Cross|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WINCHESTER St Cross was an ancient chapel, which was annexed with St Faith, lying within the ancient parish of Winchester (The Cathedral - The Holy and Undivided Trinity). It is an ancient chapel in the City of Winchester and comprises both the extra-parochial chapel of St Cross Hospital Chapel and St Faith's chapelry. St Faith's was annexed to the mastership of the hospital of St. Cross, which is extra-parochial, and in the chapel of which the parishioners attended divine service, the original church of St. Faith having been demolished for more than [three] centuries. Records begin by 1674.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Winchester St Cross with St Faith, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|WINCHESTER ST CROSS WITH ST FAITH PARISH Online Records|
Winchester St Faith parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|WINCHESTER ST FAITH PARISH Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 592-613. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 June 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.