Wimborne St Giles, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Wimborne St Giles

Guide to Wimborne St Giles, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wimborne St Giles, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred St Giles Wimborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wimborne and Cranborne
Registration District Wimborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1594; Separate registers exist for Wimborne All Saints beginning 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731; Separate records exist for Wimborne All Saints beginning 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pimperne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

WIMBORNE (St. Giles), a parish and a hundred in Dorset. The parish lies 1¾ mile SW of Cranborne, and 3½ NNW of Verwood railway station.  It includes the tything of W.-All Saints; and is in Wimborne district.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wimborne St Giles parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-2001 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC 1 = Dorset, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Dorset, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Dorset Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
MyH PRs = England, Dorset, Parish Registers, 1538-1936 (MyHeritage) - ($)
TGEN = Dorset Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Wimborne St Giles Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2001
1538-2001
1538-2001
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1906
1813-1921
1813-2010
FMP 1686-1731
1594-1936
1686-1812
MyH PRs 1538-1936
1538-1936
1538-1936
TGEN



1813-1868
JOIN

1813-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk