Wimblington, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cambridgeshire
Cambridgeshire Parishes
Wimblington

Guide to Wimblington, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wimblington, Cambridgeshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union North Witchford
Registration District North Witchford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1874; For more records see Doddington
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

WIMBLINGTON, a hamlet, in the parish of Doddington, union and hundred of North Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 4 miles (S.) from March. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wimblington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cam BTs = England, Cambridgeshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1599-1860 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cambridgeshire Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Wimblington Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
Cam BTs 1599-1860
1599-1860
1599-1860
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1539-1950
1540-1949
1540-1966
FMP 1538-1950
1538-1973
1538-1950
NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1626-1784


ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wimblington on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 584-592.Date accessed and adapted: 17 July 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk