Wilton St Cuthbert , Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Wilton St Cuthbert, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Wilton St Cuthbert , Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Guisborough|
|Parish registers: 1719|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Wilton St Cuthbert (near Redcar) is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1850 from Kirkleatham, Yorkshire Ancient Parish. Ellerburn, Yorkshire is a chapelry of Wilton (near Redcar). Other places in the parish include: Lazenby or Lackenby, and South Lackenby
WILTON (St. Cuthbert), a parochial chapelry, in the union of Guisborough, E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 3½ miles (N. N. W.) from Guisborough. This chapelry is situated on the road from Stockton to Redcar, and bounded on the north by the river Tees. There is a place of worship for Independents at Lazenby.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Wilton St Cuthbert parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wilton St Cuthbert Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A A Topographical Dictionary of England. (1848), pp. 584-592. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.