Wilson County, Tennessee Genealogy
Wilson County, Tennessee ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to Wilson County (established 1799) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Wilson County, Tennessee|
Location in the state of Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
|Founded:||October 26, 1799|
- 1 Description
- 2 Quick Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 History
- 5 Places/Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Research Guides
- 6.2 African American
- 6.3 Biographies
- 6.4 Cemeteries
- 6.5 Census
- 6.6 Church
- 6.7 Court
- 6.8 DNA
- 6.9 Family Histories
- 6.10 Land
- 6.11 Law and Legislation
- 6.12 Local Histories
- 6.13 Maps
- 6.14 Migration
- 6.15 Military
- 6.16 Newspapers
- 6.17 Occupations
- 6.18 Periodicals
- 6.19 Prisons
- 6.20 Probate Records
- 6.21 Taxation
- 6.22 Vital Records
- 7 Libraries
- 8 Societies
- 9 Wilson County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- 10 Wilson County Tennessee Genealogy References
The County was named for Major David Wilson, a Revolutionary War veteran and statesman. The County is located in the north central area of the state. 
Wilson County's civil records start the following years:
Wilson County Courthouse
228 East Main St.
Lebanon, TN 37088
County Clerk has marriage records from 1802
and probate records from 1800.
Clerk and Master and Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.
Register of Deeds has land records. 
Wilson County Clerk
Marriage and probate records
228 East Main St., Room 101
P.O. Box 950
Lebanon, TN 37088
Wilson County Clerk and Master
134 S. College St., Room 200
Lebanon, TN 37087
Mon.-Thurs. 8 a.m.-4:30
Fri. 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Wilson County Archives
111 South College St.
Lebanon, TN 37087
Hours: Mon.-Fri. 9 a.m.-3 p.m. please call ahead
Middle Tennessee county established in 1799. The northern part of the county belonged to the pioneer Cumberland Settlements.
The county is named after "David Wilson, a member of the legislatures of North Carolina and the Southwest Territory."
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1881 Fire may have damaged records in the courthouse.
Lost censuses 1800, 1810
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in the Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle.Places/LocalitiesCounty Histories
|Bairds Mill||Egan||Lindsayville (hist.)||Prosperity|
|Beckwith||Ewingsville (hist.)||Lindsley (hist.)||Round Top|
|Belinda City||Gladeville||Linwood||Rural Hill|
|Bellwood||Gloriana (hist.)||Lohmans Store (hist.)||Sherrilltown|
|Big Spring (hist.)||Green Hill||Mahone (hist.)||Shop Springs|
|Cairo Bend||Greenvale||Martha||Spring Creek (hist.)|
|Center Hill (hist.)||Greenwood||Melrose (hist.)||Statesville|
|Centerville||Holloway||Mount Carmel (hist.)||Suggs Creek|
|Centralville (hist.)||Hunters Point||Mount Juliet||Tate (hist.)|
|Cherry Valley||Hurricane||Muncie (hist.)||Tater Peeler (hist.)|
|Cottage Home||Josephine (hist.)||Oakland||Tuckers Crossroads|
|Dixon (hist.)||Laguardo||Oak Point (hist.)||Tuckers Gap (hist.)|
|Doaks Crossroads||Lebanon||Odum (hist.)||Vesta|
|Dodoburg (hist.)||Leeville||Oregon (hist.)||Vine|
|Ebaneezer (hist.)||Liberty Hill||Pennville (hist.)||Watertown|
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Wilson County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
- Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website. [Includes free African Americans in this county.]
- Douthat, James L. Wilson County, Tennessee Biographies. 1887; reprint, Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free Surname Index and purchase details at Mountain Press website.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Resources
- Tennessee Cemeteries - Hometown Locator
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1810 A substitute is available:
- Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. Google Books
1810 - 1891
- Bentley, Elizabeth P. Index to the 1820 Census of Tennessee. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL 976.8 X22b 1820
- Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website. Includes free African Americans in this county.
- Parlow, Thomas E. Federal Census of 1840, Wilson County, Tennessee. Typescript. FHL 976.854 X2p 1840
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. See Tennessee, Middle District, Wilson County on page 158.
- Carpenter, Mrs. V. Wilson County, Tennessee Population Schedule of the United States census of 1850. Huntsville, Arkansas: Century Enterprises, 1969. FHL 976.854 X2p 1850
- Parlow, Thomas E. Federal Census of 1860, Wilson County, Tennessee, Civil Districts 1-25. Typescript. FHL 976.854 X2p 1860 2 vols.
- Parlow, Thomas E. Federal Census of 1870, Wilson County, Tennessee. Lebanon, Tennessee :T.E. Partlow, 197-?. FHL 976.854 X2p 1870 2 vols.
- Parlow, Thomas E. Federal Census of 1880, Wilson County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: B. Sistler & Associates, 1992. FHL 976.854 X2p 1880
1891 Male Voters
- Young, John, ed. Wilson County, Tennessee Census, 1920 (database on-line). Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 2000. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Wilson County, Tennessee Census, 1920 at Ancestry.com (Free/$)
Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration. For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.
- Wilson County Church Records
- - FamilySearch Catalog - Wilson County Church Records
- If the records you need are not through the Family History Library, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived. Two sites that give information about churches in Wilson County are:
- - List of Wilson County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- - List of Wilson County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)
- 1801-1975 - Mount Olivet Baptist Church Records. Mount Juliet, 1801-1975. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #511.
- 1801-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 2 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Mount Olivet Baptist Church Records. Mount Juliet, 1801-1975.
- 1815-1881 - Cedar Lick Baptist Church Records. Wilson County, 1815-1881. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #329. FHL 830169
- 1815-1881 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 1 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to Cedar Lick Baptist Church Records. Wilson County, 1815-1881.
- 1821-1958 - Rutland Baptist Church (Wilson County). Church records, 1821-1958. Nashville, Tennessee: Historical Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention, 196-. Manuscript on film. FHL 984308 Item 4
- 1881-1961 - Cedar Lick Baptist Church Records. Wilson County, 1881-1961. Manuscript. TSLA Reel #339. FHL 833250
- 1881-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. vol. 2 FHL 976.8 K29s Index to original Cedar Lick Baptist Church Records. Wilson County, 1881-1961.
- Grime, John Harvey. History of Middle Tennessee Baptists: With Special Reference to Salem, New Salem, Enon and Wiseman Associations. Nashville, Tennessee: Baptist and Reflector, 1902. Includes names changes for places in Middle Tennessee.
- Mathews, Reverend John D.D. Peeps into Life Autobiography. Methodist Episcopal Church Tennessee Conference, 1904. Free digital copy.
- Big Springs Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Wilson Co., Tennessee, Church Register. S.l. : s.n., 196-. Manuscript. Includes index. FHL 976.8 A1 no. 2
- Partlow, Thomas E. Tax Lists of Wilson County, Tennessee, 1803-1807 with Names in Court Records, 1802-1822. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Tax Lists of Wilson County, Tennessee, 1803-1807 at Ancestry.com (Free/$)
- Brown - Descendant of Richard Brown, b. 1763, moved to Wilson County, Tennessee abt 1799. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 141095). Genetic signature available online (labeled Group No. 48), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. Matches have been found.
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
The Wilson Co., TNGenWeb pages host the following guides:
- Masters, Jack and Bill Puryear. Founding of the Cumberland Settlements: The First Atlas 1779-1804: Showing Who Came, How They Came, and Where They Put Down Roots. Gallatin, Tenn.: Warioto Press, 2009. FHL Large Q Book 976.8 E7d. Supplements: FHL Book 976.8 E7d supp. 1 ff. Purchase at Cumberland Pioneer Settlers.
- Partlow, Thomas E. Early Families of Wilson County, Tennessee. Typescript, microfilmed in 1975. FHL Book 976.854 D2p.
- Adams - Ose, Enlow. The Family of John Washington Adams (1822-1907): and the Families of Robert Murray (1790/1800-1840/1850); Catherine Adams Stephens (ca. 1804-after 1860); Jesse Koonce (ca. 1769-ca. 1814); Nancy Brewer (ca. 1804-1850/1860); George Adams (before 1775-1830/1840) of Rutherford and Wilson County, Tennessee. Sacramento, Calif.: E. Ose, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 Ad18o.
- Barnett - Sibley, Marilyn McAdams. John Calhoun Barnett, Jr., (1838-1912) of Grimes County, Texas: and Other Descendants of Robert Barnett (d.1818) of Wilson Co., Tennessee. Houston, Texas: M.M. Sibley, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 B264sm.
- Bonner - Bonner, Kathryn R. The Bonner Family Record: This Record is Primarily of the Bonners of Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia, Those that Went to Wilson, Madison and Shelby Counties, Tennessee, and Those that Went on to Phillips County, Arkansas: Today the Descendants are Spread into Many States. Marianna, Ark.: K.R. Bonner, 1979. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 3414.
- Cantrell - Wright, Mildred S. George Washington Cantrell and His Wife Martha Elizabeth Lea Carver of Tennessee: Their Ancestry and Descendants. Beaumont, Texas: M.S. Wright, 1983. FHL US/CAN Book 929.273 C169wm.
- Cason - Graves, James Merritt Joseph Cason deceased 1835 and his descendants Nashville, Tenn.: Graves Publishing, c1994 FHL Book 929.273 C27g; digital version available at FamilySearch Books Online.
- Christian - Edwards, Howell B. A Family Named Christian of Wilson County, Tennessee. Grants Pass, Ore.: H.B. Edwards, 1994?. FHL Book 929.273 C462ed.
- Cluck - Graves, James Merritt. Wilson County Clucks of Tennessee: Six Generations of Henry Cluck's Descendants. Nashville, Tenn.: Graves Publishing, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 C627g. Digital version available at FamilySearch Books Online
- Culbreath - Green, John Stinson Leroy Culbreath and Mary Fulk of Williamson County, Illinois and Stafford County, Kansas Wichita, Kansas?: J.S. Green, [199-?] FHL Book 929.273 C897g; digital version available at FamilySearch Books Online
- Donaldson - Waters, Elise Donaldson. Genealogy of Donaldsons of Wilson and Clay County, Tennessee; Colsons, Browns, and Hords of Virginia and Tennessee, and Related Families. Nashville, Tenn.: E.D. Waters, 1981. FHL Large Q Book 929.273 D714w.
- Donalson - Edwards, Christine Williams and Larry Kittrel Wilson. The Donalson Family of Caswell County, North Carolina and Wilson County, Tennessee. Typescript, microfilmed in 1972. FHL Film 897212 Item 3.
- Edwards - Raymond, Charles E. Journey into the Past with Constable Jarrot William Edwards and Rebecca Bennett of Wilson County, Tennessee. Murrieta, Calif.: C.E. Raymond, 2005. FHL Book 921.73 Ed96r; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- Edwards - Raymond, Charles E. Journey into the Past with War of 1812 Soldier John Edwards and Sarah Hackney: of Chatham County, North Carolina and Wilson County, Tennessee. Murrieta, Calif.: C.E. Raymond, 2006. FHL Book 929.273 Ed96r; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- Finley - Finley, Carmen J. "John Finley of Montgomery/Wythe County, Virginia: Additional Children Identified," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1995):3-22; Vol. 39, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1995):94-103; Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):202-212; Vol. 39, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1995):282-294. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 39 (1995).
- Jackson - Jackson, B. Darrell. Jackson Family History: Descendants of Robert Jackson of Dinwiddie County, Virginia, to Nine Generations, ca. 1760-2008: with Ancestry of Allied Families -- Johnson, Blakely, Shields, Cooper, Stiles, Kitchell, Pierson, Bruen, Ogden, Swaine, and Owsley. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 2009. FHL Collection 929.273 J137j
- Jones - Watson, Walter A. Notes on Southside Virginia. Richmond, Va.: D. Bottom, Superintendant of Public Print., 1925. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Knight - Garrett, Jill Knight. Knight Cousins. Columbia, TN: Unknown, 1967. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 928090; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- Lain - Patterson, Edna Earle Fleming. The Lains of Wilson County, Tennessee and Some of Their Descendants. Houston, Texas: E.E.F. Patterson, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 L143p; FHL Film 1317111 Item 3.
- Payne - Payne, Lois Wittenbraker. The Paynes of Wabash County, Illinois and Wilson County, Tennessee. Effingham, Ill.: L.W. Payne, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 P293pL.
- Phillips - Phillips, Harry. Phillips Family History: A Brief History of the Phillips Family, Beginning with the Emigration from Wales, and a Detailed Genealogy of the Descendants of John and Benjamin Philips, Pioneer Citizens of Wilson County, Tenn. Lebanon, Tenn.: Lebanon Democrat, Inc., 1935. FHL Book 929.273 P541ph.
- Phillips - Phillips, Harry and Don Phillips. History of the Phillips Family: A Brief History of the Phillips Family, Beginning with the Emigration from Wales, and a Detailed Genealogy of the Descendants of John and Benjamin Philips, Pioneer Citizens of Wilson County, Tenn. Washington, D.C.: Heritage Press, 1971. FHL Book 929.273 P541pha.
- Rieff - Beekman, Jane Kyhl. Research Summaries of Reiff, Rieff, Rife and Welschans Families: of Switzerland, Alsace, (France-Germany), Pennsylvania, Virginia, Indiana, Wilson County, Tennessee; Washington County, Arkansas, etc. Muncie, Ind.: J.K. Beekman, 2003. FHL Book 929.273 R272bj; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- Rowland - Sheridan, Richard C. Richardson Rowland (1791-1872) and His Family: Wilson County, Tennessee, and Caldwell County, Kentucky. Sheffield, Ala.: n.p., 1975. FHL Book 929.273 R796sr; another copy: FHL Book 929.273 R796s.
- Stroud - Stroud, Roger Dean. From Old Dominion to Volunteer and Pioneer: The Archibald Stroud Family of Wilson County, Tennessee, Volume I. Provo, Utah: Stevenson's Genealogy Center, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 St89srd.
- Tate - Carpenter, Evelyn Yates. Tate and Allied Families of Robertson County, Tennessee: Includes the Nearby Tennessee Counties of Davidson, Sumner, and Wilson. Includes Virginia and North Carolina, the States of Tate Family Origin. Includes Counties in Arkansas, Illinois, Missouri and Throughout the United States Where Many Tate Families Migrated. Clarksville, Tenn.: Jostens, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 T187c.
- Thomas - James, Larry Alan. The Jewell and Thomas Families of Frederick County, Maryland and Wilson County, Tennessee. Neosho, Missouri: L.A. James, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 5839.
- Young - Neal, Clarice and Ella McCaleb Young. David Young and Sarah Phillips Descendants: Wilson County, Tennessee, 1796-1994. Austin, Texas: C. Neal, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 Y84n.
The original Wilson County Deed Books are held at the County Courthouse. In 1965, TSLA microfilmed Deed Books A to 169 (1789-1965) and Trust Deed Books EE to 215 (1829-1965) and indexes. FHL copies: FHL Films 427157-427252, 430339-430410, 2260203.
Local Land Entries Issued by North Carolina
The original Wilson County land entries issued by North Carolina are kept at the North Carolina State Archives in Raleigh. On their website, users can bring up a list of land entries issued in Wilson County, both before and after its land became a part of the state of Tennessee. Years covered: 1783-1802.
- Follow this link to conduct a "Call Number Search" using the MARS Catalog on their site.
- Using the pull down window, change "Call Numbers starting" to "A MarsID matching."
- Type 12.14.21 (Windows Vista users may need to include a period after the last digit, for example 12.14.21.) and click Search. This is the specific MarsID for Wilson County.
- Click on the entry that is returned: "Tennessee, Wilson County."
- In the window that pops up, click Show List of Child Records and a list of Wilson County land entries will be produced. Browse to find abstracts of the original records.
N.B. You can also search by name through the Basic Search, but it lacks soundex capabilities.
- Free index to 1500+ Pioneer Cumberland Settlements Land Grants, available online, courtesy: Cumberland Pioneer Settlers. The Cumberland Settlements region covered what is now this county. To view the land grants platted on maps, purchase the books described on this site, or access those available at the Family History Library FHL US/CAN Large Q Book 976.8 E7d.
- The Tennessee Library and Archives shares this about land grants on their website: “The Tennessee State Library and Archives has a printed index which lists the names of individuals who received North Carolina land grants in Tennessee and land grants obtained directly from the state of Tennessee. E-mail the Library and Archives with the name of the individual, and we will check to see if there is a listing in the index.” (Tennessee Archives)
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
- Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
- Maps at the Tennessee State Library and Archives
- Tennessee State Library and Archives - Browse through images
- Johnson, Mrs. Ross B. Some Early Settlers in Hickory County, Missouri from Sumner and Wilson Cos., Tenn.: With Some Genealogical Data on the Jordan L. Rhea Family, the Thomas Davis Family, the Robert Davis Family, the John S. Williams Family, the Elisha T. Condley Family. Typescript, microfilmed in 1975. FHL Film 928082 Item 13.
The following Wilson County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
Additional resources include:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. See Tennessee, Middle District, Wilson County on page 158.
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):95-98; Vol. 8, No. 4 (Oct. 1961):122-124. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes Wilson County pensioners (p. 124).
- 1861-1865 - Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1891-1965 - Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch — images
- Civil War Research Database $
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Regiments. Civil War service men from Wilson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in or came from Wilson County:
- 1st Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (McNairy's) - CSA - Company E.
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry - CSA - Company K.
- 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Smith's) - CSA - Captain Samuel P. Thompson's Company.
- 4th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry- CSA - Companies C, D, F, and K.
- 4th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (McLemore's) - CSA - Companies B, C, and G.
- 7th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA- COmpanied D, F, G, H, I, and K.
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Smith's) - CSA - Companies D and F.
- 9th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Ward's) - CSA - Company H.
- 18th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies I and K.
- 20th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA
- 22nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Barteau's) - CSA - Company C.
- 24th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company K.
- 28th Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company B.
- 28th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Hay's) - CSA
- 28th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (2nd Tennessee Mountain Volunteers) - CSA - Company F.
- 38th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Looney's) (8th Infantry) - CSA - Companies E, H, and 2nd H.
- 45th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies B, F, G, and H.
- 4th Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry - Companies G and H.
- 5th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Companies D, E, G, I, K, and L.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Wilson County:
- Duke, Basil Wilson. History of Morgan's Cavalry. Cincinnati: Miami Printing and Publishing Co., 1867. Free digital copy. Includes 9th Regiment, Tennessee Calvary (Ward's).
- McMurray, William Joseph. History of the 20th Tennessee Regiment Volunteer Infantry, C.S.A. Nashville, Tennessee: s.p., 1904. Free digital copy.
- USGenWeb Archives, Wilson County Tennessee Archives. Military Records.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Wilson County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Wilson County, page 386-387.
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Wilson County click on the following cities:
- Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Wilson County.
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Wilson County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
- The Chronicle
- Indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI). Volumes 1 - 29 (1990 - 2007). For additional information see the Mount Julie-West Wilson County website.
- The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Perry County, Tennessee have been published in The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, the quarterly of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society (23+ Vols.). To view a list of these articles, visit their online Index to Articles (1988-2005). Surname indexes are also available online for Vols. 2-22. The website also offers back issues for sale in paper and on CD. The Family History Library has a complete collection of this quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.
Learn if your Wilson County, Tennessee Genealogy ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Index to wills, 1803-1917
- Inventories, Wills, 1802-1965 (33 vols.)
- Wills, 1803-1917
- Wills, 1825-1833
- Guardian settlements, 1863-1896 (Vols. A-C)
- Settlements, 1836-1965 (32 vols.)
- Bonds, Letters, 1838-1965 (27 vols.)
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Wilson County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
- Probate Records 1802-1814
- Probate Records 1824-1827
- Probate Records 1814-1819
- Probate Records 1819-1824
- Probate Records 1830-1832
The following Wilson County probate records have been abstracted, indexed, or both:
- 1800-1899 - Partlow, Thomas E. The People of Wilson County, Tennessee, 1800-1899. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 1983. This indexed book includes court records, wills and inventories, church records, and other records from the Wilson County courthouse and from newspaper excerpts. The range of dates varies by record type. (FHL book 976.854 P2pa.)
- 1878-1902 - Partlow, Thomas E. Wilson County, Tennessee, Deeds, Marriages and Wills, 1800-1902. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 1987. The range of dates stated in the title varies by record type. Wills of 1878-1899 are included in this indexed book. (FHL book 976.854 R2p.)
- 1802-1850 - Partlow, Thomas E.; Suzann Goss, indexer. Wilson County, Tennessee Wills: Books 1-13, 1802-1850. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 1981.
- 1802-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Wilson County, Tennessee Wills and Administrations, 1802-1861. Nashville, Tennessee: Byron Sistler, 1990. (FHL book 976.854 P22s.)
- 1802-1810 - Willis, Laura. Wilson County Will Books Vol. 1-Dec 1802-Feb 1810. Mayfield, KY: Willis Historical, 1999. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 976.854 P2w. Digital version available at World Vital Records.
- 1802-1832 - Strictly By Name (see above).
- USGen Web's Wilson County page includes indexes and abstracts of court records.
Original Wilson County tax records:
- 1821-1964 - Tax Books, 1821-1964. Nashville: TSLA, 1965. Manuscript. On 81 microfilm reels.FHL 430885
The following Wilson County tax records have been abstracted:
- 1789 - Cumberland Settlements, Tax List, 1789, The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Fall 1990). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- 1803-1807 - Partlow, Thomas E. Tax Lists of Wilson County, Tennessee, 1803-1807 with Names in Court Records, 1802-1822. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. Digital version at Ancestry ($). FHL 976.854 R4p
- 1804-1805 - O'Hara, Virginia G. "List of Taxables, Wilson County, Tennessee, for the Year 1804," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 11, No. 4 (Oct. 1964):165-170. For access, see Periodicals.
- 1804 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. Includes 1804 tax list.
- 1804 - Gant, Wanda. "Alphabetically Arranged Wilson Co., TN 1804 Tax List by Company: Arranged in Order to Compare to Warren County Names," available online, courtesy: USGenWeb Archives. Source: TSLA list.
- 1814 - "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3(Fall 1996):115-120. For access, see Periodicals. Includes Wilson County.
- 1827-1869 - Partlow, Thomas E. Wilson County, Tennessee, Genealogical Resource Material, 1827-1869. Greenville, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1997. FHL US/CAN Book 976.854 P27p. FHL 976.854 P27p
- 1881-1882 - Wilson County Birth Index 1881-1882 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.org - free. Batch C519863.
The original Wilson County marriage records are housed at the Wilson County Archives. Marriages are complete from 1802.
State Marriage Records
The following Wilson County marriage records are microfilmed:
- 1802-1986 - Available at the TSLA. 1802-1837 can be interlibrary loaned. Also available at the Wilson County Archives to 1953.
- 1802-1965 - Available at the Family History Library. Includes indexes. FHL 430826 Filmed by the Tennessee State Library.
- 1840-1953 - Available at the Family History Library. Includes indexes to marriages after 1838.FHL 2116810 Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah at the Wilson County Archives.
The following Wilson County marriage records have been indexed:
- 1802-1895, 1914-1934 - Wilson County Marriage Index 1802-1895 and 1914-1934 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.org - free.</ref>
- 1802-1840 - Marriage Records, 1802-1840, Wilson County, Tennessee. Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1940. Typescript. FHL 24879 Items 2-3
- 1802-1840 - Marriage Records, 1802-1840, Wilson County, Tennessee. Salt Lake City: GSU, Historical Records Project, 1940. Typescript. FHL 982246 Item 3
- 1802-1850 - Whitely, Edythe R. Marriages of Wilson County, Tennessee, 1802-1850. Baltimore, Maryland: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1981. FHL 976.854 V2w
- 1802-1870 - Lucas, Silas Emmett and Ella Lee Sheffield. 35,000 Tennessee Marriage Records and Bonds 1783-1870. 3 vols. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1981. FHL 976.8 V2t v. 1 Abstracts include names of brides, grooms, bondsmen, marriage bond dates, and officiators for weddings in this county for the roughly specified years. Marriage data taken from an index card file at TSLA. Authors do not specify whether or not the card index completely indexes this county's marriages.
- 1802-1865 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1988. FHL Book 976.8 V2sbv. 2 Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage or marriage bond dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.
- 1800-1902 - Partlow, Thomas E. Wilson County, Tennessee, deeds, marriages and wills, 1800-1902. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 1987. FHL 976.854 R2p
- 1861-1869 - Freedman's Bureau Marriage Certificates (1861-1869) is an index to the marriage records kept by the Memphis Field Office of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. It includes grooms surname, grooms given name, groom's age, brides surname, bride's given name and other information.
- 1733-1866 - Marriage Records. 
- 1802-1850 - Marriage Records: Early–1850. 
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Wilson County divorce papers in diverse County Courthouse records, see the following resources:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
For deaths of Methodists in Wilson County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try searching the following records:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. (1847-1914) 10 vols. Jackson, Tenn.: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830's, 1840's, 1910's and 1920's.
|Mt. Juliet - Wilson County Library
2765 North Mt. Juliet R.
Mt. Juliet, TN 37122-0319
Phone: 1-615-758-7051 Facebook
Mon.,Tue.,Thurs. 8:30 a.m.-8 p.m.
Wed., Fri., Sat. 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
|Genealogical Resources: The library is the home of the Mount Juliet-West Wilson Historical Society. Their collections are in the Madelon Wright Smith Memorial Archives.|
| The Brentwood Library
8109 Concord Rd.
Brentwood, TN 37027
Mon.-Thurs. 9 a.m.-8 p.m.
Fri. 9 a.m.-6 p.m.
Sat. 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
Sun.1 p.m.-6 p.m.
|Genealogical Resources include Brentwood history, families, homes, census, tax records and more.|
Info and map of regional library services on the Tennessee Archives page: Public Library Services & Resources
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
| Mount Juliet-West Wilson County TN Historical Society
2765 North Mt. Juliet Rd.
Mt. Juliet, TN 37122-0319
P.O. Box 337
Mount Juliet, TN 37122
E-mail: Donna G. Ferrell: firstname.lastname@example.org
Mon, Tue, Thu 8:30 a.m.-8 p.m.
Wed., Fri., Sat. 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
|Genealogical Resources: The society focuses on discovering and collecting material that helps establish the history of Mount Juliet and West Wilson County, Tennessee. It collects genealogies, histories, manuscript material such as letters, diaries, journals and etc. The society's collection is housed at the Mount Juliet, TN Public Library in the Madelon Wright Smith Memorial Archives. The library and the Historical Society maintain a close working relationship and the files are accessible to the general public during the library's normal hours of operation.|
Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
|The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Wilson County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, see Periodicals.|
Wilson County Tennessee Genealogy Websites
- Cumberland Pioneer Settlers Cumberland Compact Signers, Pioneer Land Grant Recipients, Publication Descriptions, Free Book Indexes
- FamilySearch Catalog (FamilySearch) — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Rootwalker: Genealogy Pages for Northern Middle TN Free Genealogy Resources for the Region
- RootsWeb Mailing List: TN-ROOTWALKER-L (North Central Tennessee Genealogy List)
- Wilson County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board
- Wilson County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Wilson County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Wilson County, Tennessee Depot (RootsWeb)
- Wilson County TN Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
Wilson County Tennessee Genealogy References
- Wikipedia contributors, "Wilson, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wilson_County,_Tennessee accessed 09 Jan 2019
- Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wilson, Tennessee page 645, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Founding of the Cumberland Settlements: The First Atlas 1779-1804.
- "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- Tennessee county history series : Wilson County / by Frank Burns ; Robert E. Corlew, editor by Burns, Frank, 1921-; Corlew, Robert Ewing Published 1983 Usage Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Topics Wilson County (Tenn.) -- History
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 645. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 31 March 2014).
- May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
- May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
- J. Mark Lowe, "The Land Grant Processes of North Carolina and Tennessee," Lecture, Federation of Genealogical Societies Conference, Knoxville, Tenn., August 21, 2010.
- The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/64/Igitennessees.pdf.
- Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1994. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 2.) Does not circulate to Family History Centers.
- Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1992. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 229.) Does not circulate to Family History Centers.