Wilson County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Wilson County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Wilson County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church
- 4.4 County Records
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Probate
- 4.12 Taxation
- 4.13 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Wilson County is located in the Eastern portion of North Carolina and was named for Louis Dicken Wilson, a delegate to the constitutional convention of 1835, member of the General Assembly, and hero of the Mexican War.
County CourthouseWilson County Courthouse
115 E. Nash Street
Wilson, North Carolina 27894
Post Office Box 1608
Wilson, North Carolina 27894
Register Deeds has birth, marriage death and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1868
and probate records from from 1855
Register of Deeds
PO Box 1728
Wilson, NC 27894
Clerk Superior Court
PO Box 1608
Wilson, NC 27894
Phone: (252) 291-7500
Wilson County was formed from Edgecombe, Johston, Nash, Wayne 13 Feb 1855
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Some of the early records are missing.
- Black Creek
- Elm City
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch — index and images
- Wilson County Cemetery Census
- Cedar Grove Cemetery - Elm City
- Contentnea Primitive Baptist Church - Wilson
- Maplewood Cemetery - Wilson
- New Vester Cemetery - Buckhorn Crossroads
- Pleasant Grove Methodist Church - Conner
- Rest Haven Cemetery - Wilson
- Rocky Branch United Church - Buckhorn Crossroads
- Stantonsburg Town Cemetery - Stantonsburg
- Town Creek Cemetery - Elm City
- William Chapel Church - Elm City
- Fnd-a-Grave - Wilson County
For tips on accessing Wilson County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Toisnot. Founded 1756. Edwards published a membership list dated 1758 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 138. Originally located in Edgecombe County.
Registrar of Deeds Online Recorder's Index Search
Trees of Wilson - Wilson County Genealogical Society publication
- Recorded military discharges - Wilson County
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Wilson County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wilson County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 1st Regiment, Heavy Artillery (African Descent
- - 1st Regiment, Infantry
- - 1st Regiment, Infantry (African Descent)
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 2nd Regiment Mounted Infantry
- - 2nd Regiment Infantry (African Descent)
- - 3rd Regiment Infantry (African Descent)
- - 3rd Regiment Mounted Infantry
- - 7th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 4th Regiment5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company B
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company H
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company H
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company G
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1855 - 1960 - SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills. - Free
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- 1855 - 1960 - Will Books 1 to 11 (1855-1960) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Obtain copies of Wilson County Birth, Marriage and Death records.
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1926 - 1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1958 - 2004 - North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1855 - 1933 - Wilson County Marriage Index 1855-1933 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
Societies and Libraries
Wilson County Genealogical Society
PO Box 802
Wilson County Library
East Branch Library
1006-C Ward Blvd
Telephone Number: 252-237-2627
Wilson County Library
249 Nash Street W
Wilson, NC 27893
Telephone Number: 252-237-5355
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Wilson County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wilson County, North Carolina. Page 514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:491. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990; "Toisnot Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- "Toisnot Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.