Wilsford, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Wilsford

Guide to Wilsford, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wilsford, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Swanborough
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Pewsey
Registration District Pewsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1588
Bishop's Transcripts: 1624
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Potterne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Wilsford and Woodford
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

WILSFORD (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Amesbury, hundred of Underditch, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 1¾ mile (S. W. by W.) from Amesbury, with the tything of Lake. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wilsford, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Wilsford, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
IGI 1588-1885 1588-1837
NIM 1588-1840
1588-1837
1588-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 581-584. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 14 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.