Wilsford, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Wilsford, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wilsford St Mary the Virgin Lincolnshire
|Hundred||Winnibriggs and Threo|
|Poor Law Union||Sleaford|
|Parish registers: 1668|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WILSFORD (St. Mary), a parish in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Flaxwell, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4½ miles (W. S. W.) from Sleaford. 
Wilsford St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish which includes Hanbeck.
The hamlet and civil parish of Wilsford is close to Ancaster, Lincolnshire and a deserted mediaeval village lies between them.
The church retains part of the Saxon building but was built substantially in the Norman period and has undergone renovation in subsequent centuries including Victorian renovation in 1860-1861 and again ten years later.
There is no remaining trace of the Priory founded at Wilsford.
Please do not confuse with Wilsford, Wiltshire
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
The parish was in the Leadenham sub District of Sleaford registration District.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Wilsford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Wilsford Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 August 2013.