Willington, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Willington, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Michael Willington Derbyshire
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Burton upon Trent|
|Registration District||Burton upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1698|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WILLINGTON, a parish, with a village, in the district of Burton-upon-Trent and county of Derby. There are Baptist and Wesleyan chapels.
WILLINGTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Burton-upon-Trent, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 7 miles (S. W.) from Derby. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Repton district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Willington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Willington St Michael (1698) Parish Online Records|
Willington St Michael Derbyshire Record Office reference D861 has deposited registers Bap 1698-1973 Mar 1698-1987 Burial 1698-1978 Banns 1824-1898, 1937-1972
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1854Mar 1662-1848 Burials 1662-1854 Missing all events for 1841-1843, 1847. Bap & Bur missing for 1854-1855
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Willington on GENUKI