Willington, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Willington, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Type||Extra-parochial area (England)|
|County||Cheshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Great Boughton|
|Registration District||Great Boughton|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WILLINGTON, is an extra-parochial district, locally in the parish of Tarvin, union of Great Boughton, Second division of the hundred of Eddisbury, South division of the county of Chester, 1½ miles S by E from Kelsall. It is situated on the south-west side of Delamere Forest.
Willington was an extra-parochial place in Eddisbury Hundred (Map Grid SJ 5366), which became a civil parish in 1866. It included the hamlets of Tirley and Willington Corner (part).
It is necessary to search the surrounding parishes for ecclesiastical records, The registration district is Great Boughton.
Willington is a village and civil parish, about 9 miles from Chester, in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.
The place-name means "village of a woman called Winflǣd", from the Old English personal name Winflǣd + tun "farm, village". The name was recorded in the Domesday Book as Winfletone, and as Wynlaton in the 12th Century.
- Kelsall, St Philip (C of E). The parish church for Willington since 1965 (previously extra-parochial). Kelsall, St. Philip (C of E). Built in 1860 as a chapel to Tarvin. Becoming the parish church for Kelsall from 1956, and extended to include Willington in 1965. Registers of Baptisms 1868–1962, Marriages 1869–1976 and Burials 1868–1930 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Willington extra-parochial place registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Willington Extra-Parochial Place Online Records|
|FS BT'S|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1600s-1910 Cheshire Non-Conformist & Roman Catholic Registers (Baptism) 17th Century-1910 at FindMyPast ($); index and images (dates may vary by parish)
- Willington, Methodist Chapel (Free). Built in 1823, rebuilt in 1865. Registers of baptisms 1893–1932 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Cheshire Non-conformist records are available online in Record Search
- Non-Conformist Records: Church records for the New Connexion Methodist Church, Willington, 1893-1932 Microfilm Baptisms, 1893-1932. VAULT BRITISH Film 2299528 Item 2
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837-69)
- Chester (1870-1937)
- West Cheshire (1937-74)
- Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974-98)
- Cheshire West (1998-2007)
- Cheshire (2007-09)
- Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Willington on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013